Research Guides: English: Literature Resources

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 312 views this year

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
This long-standing series profiles novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed from 1474-1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from the late-15th to early-21st centuries. Manuscripts and printed and visual primary sources as well as secondary resources such as scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
Offers reference searching and interactive browsing by region, quotations with a complete bibliography extending from the 17th century through the 21st, and maps illustrating where words were collected.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of the 7,000+ known living languages of the world.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

To find related journals through the CWRU e-Journal portal, you can type in a journal's title or ISSN in the main Search bar, or you can select Literature & Writing in the Browse by Discipline section to explore available titles.

Here are some journal titles for Literature that are are available in the CWRU e-Journal portal:

Modern Fiction Studies
Studies in the Novel
Novel: A Forum on Fiction

American & English Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
The American & English Literature Collection contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. Includes the complete text of several major editions of Shakespeare's works.
HathiTrust (Public Domain & Copyright Works) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions offering millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Books

Books
Subject Headings

A Companion to Literary Evaluation by Richard Bradford (Editor); Madelena Gonzalez (Editor); Kevin De Ornellas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119409892
Publication Date: 2024
Literature: a world history by David Damrosch (Editor); Gunilla Lindberg-Wada (Editor); Anders Pettersson (Editor); Theo D'haen (Editor); Bo Utas (Editor); Zhang Longxi (Editor); Djelal Kadir (Editor); As'ad Khairallah (Editor); Harish Trivedi (Editor); Eileen Julien (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119775737
Publication Date: 2022
The Idea of the Book and the Creation of Literature by Stephen Orgel
ISBN: 9780191967788
Publication Date: 2023
The Language of Fiction by Emar Maier (Editor); Andreas Stokke (Editor)
ISBN: 9780192585356
Publication Date: 2022

One of the options in the dropdown menu for catalog searching is Subject. Searching by Subject means finding specific Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSHs), which tell you what a work is about using standardized rules for the order of terms, the language used, etc. It works best when you already know what to look for.

Here are some Library of Congress Subject Headings that you can use in a Subject search to lead you to relevant works:

Literature – History and Criticism
Fiction – History and Criticism
Literature – Terminology

Book Reviews

Databases
eJournals

Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 This link opens in a new window
Collecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction from 1903 to 1982.
New York Review of Books (NYRB) This link opens in a new window
A biweekly magazine on literature, culture, and current affairs published in New York which takes as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity.

CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

Here are some journal titles for Book Reviews that are are available in the CWRU e-Journal portal:

New York Times Book Review
Publishers Weekly
Kirkus Reviews

English