Macromolecular Science & Engineering

The book covers chemistry of thermoset elastomers, but only to the extent needed for understanding how to process them through a manufacturing environment and how they react in various manufacturing methods. The focus of the book is to provide in-depth coverage of tooling, processing, and secondary operations that can improve manufacturing efficiencies. Detailed and easy to understand diagrams display specific conditions and how they can be improved upon. Innovative ideas and solutions are shared and discussed.

The second edition of this popular industrial guide describes over 2,800 currently available epoxy resins, curing agents, compounds, and modifiers, based on information supplied by 71 manufacturers or distributors of these products. Epoxy resins have experienced tremendous growth since their introduction in the 1950s. Future growth will be in new markets in the specialty performance areas and high-technology applications. Each raw material or product is described, as available, with typical assay or checkpoint figures and a brief summary of important features or applications. Additional sections useful to the reader are the Suppliers' Addresses and a Trade Name Index.

Providing concise, basic information on the selection, use, and processing of short fiber reinforced thermoplastics and thermoset materials, this book examines the principle characteristics of these materials and their strengths and weaknesses in practical terms for design engineers.

Handbook of Thermoset Resins is designed as a stand-alone guide to Thermoset Resins, an important class of polymer materials. The book begins with a general introduction to thermoset resins OCo including network concept, curing, processing, and testing OCo and ends with thermoset nanocomposites, a subject of much current interest. The objective of Handbook of Thermoset Resins is to provide focused and detailed information on synthesis, characterizations, applications, and toughening of thermoset resins. In contrast to thermoplastics, where the toughening is achieved by simple physical blending, the same is achieved in thermoset resins exclusively through chemistry and presents a greater challenge to polymer scientists, as highlighted in this book. This book also presents a detailed review of the recent advances on thermoset-based composites and nanocomposites. Finally, Handbook of Thermoset Resins highlights the future directions of research in various areas of thermoset resins. With such broad technical content, covering the basic concepts and recent advances, the book serves as both a useful textbook and as a handbook for students, researchers, engineers, R&D scientists from academia, research laboratories and industries (related to resins, fibre composites, adhesive, paints, rubbers, printing inks, and more). Scientists and researchers in the field of polymer science in general and thermoset resins in particular will find Handbook of Thermoset Resins very useful in developing a knowledge-base in the subject as well as planning their future research works."

Epoxy resins are regarded as thermosetting resins and have found various c- mercial applications after crosslinking with adequate curing agents [1-3]. H- ever, some epoxy resins have been used as thermoplastic resins without curing agents. Figure 1 shows the applications of epoxy resins that are classi?ed to three categories: thermosets in combination with curing agents, thermoplastics wi- out curing agents, and raw materials for modi?cation. The use in thermoplastics is not popular compared with the two other applications. Typical thermoplastic applications are found in stabilizers for vinyl resins, toners for copying - chines, ?re retardants for engineering plastics, and sizing material for glass or carbon ?bers. The epoxy resin most frequently used is the oligomer of the diglycidyl ether of bisphenol-A (DGEBA) whose chemical structure is shown below [1-3]. The DGEBA is composed of linear molecules with different molecular weights according to the variation of the repeated number (n) in the structural formula.

This book bridges the technology and business aspects of thermosets, providing a practical guide designed for engineers working in real-world industrial settings. The author explores the criteria for material selection, provides information on material properties for each family of thermosets, and discusses the various processing options for each material type. He explains advantages and disadvantages of using thermosets and composites in comparison to competing materials and assesses cost aspects, enabling the reader to balance out technical and economic constraints when choosing a thermoset and processing technology for a given application. This second edition contains a new section on composites solutions for practical problems, gathering information on trends contributing to the breakthrough of composites in various sectors. Other new sections on specific crosslinking processes, processing trends, machinery and equipment manufacturers, applications, bio-sourced thermosets and natural fibers, and recycling of thermosets and composites are included. Case studies are provided, illustrating many design and production challenges. Furthermore, new market data and information about health and safety will be added. All data is fully updated throughout, with pricing in USD and EUR, and both ASTM (North American) and European standards. Thermosets and Thermoset Composites, Second Edition is the only book that gives in-depth coverage of a wide range of subject matters and markets, yet in brevity and concision in a single volume, avoiding the need of consulting a series of other specialized books. By providing the knowledge necessary for selecting a fabrication process, thermoset material and methods for determining the all important cost of thermoset parts this new edition is an invaluable decision-making aid and reference work for practitioners in a field with growing importance. Combining materials data, information on processing techniques, and economic aspects, Biron provides a unique end-to-end approach to the selection and use of materials in the plastics industry and related sectors New material on bio-sourced thermosets, natural fibers, and recycling of thermosets Concise and easy-to-use source of information and decision-making aid

. A succinct source of information for designers and manufacturers. . A decision-making tool for those who need a quick and pragmatic account of thermosets and composites. . A synoptic account of the techno-economics and properties of all the commonly-used thermosets and composites. Designers and manufacturers using thermosets and composites, or those intending to do so, often need a succinct source of information on the economics and properties of these materials. This book provides a synoptic approach. It covers the economic importance of thermosets and composites, a comparison of the properties of the various thermoset categories, monographs on the nine principal families of thermosets, polymer composites and emergent materials and processes. Will enable readers to make informed decisions leading to well designed and made products.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the most recent developments in the theory of non-Archimedean pseudo-differential equations and its application to stochastics and mathematical physics--offering current methods of construction for stochastic processes in the field of p-adic numbers and related structures. Develops a new theory for parabolic equations over non-Archimedean fields in relation to Markov processes.