Research Guides: Macromolecular Science & Engineering: Find Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Library Databases

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a SciFinderⁿ account (required)
Platform provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text publications published by the American Chemical Society (ACS), a leading publisher in the chemical and related sciences. The collection includes journals and e-books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines, with greatest emphasis in STEM fields.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Platform that provides access to journal articles and e-books from across a wide range of disciplines, predominantly scientific, technical, and medical.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, including multiple material classes, property types, property data, and applications. Includes enhanced data visualization features display interactive crystal structures, data tables, and phase diagrams. Includes Landolt-Börnstein series.

SciFinder-n Training videos

SciFinder-n Tutorials
Several basic tutorials.
Discover literature relevant to your research
Powerful filtering tools and alerts help you identify references relevant to your research.
Optimize your synthesis plans
Use the retrosynthesis tool to calculate an experimental or predicted synthesis based on known chemistry.

How to Access an Article

Some articles may be readily available fulltext from the index you searched in. Use LibKey Nomad browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the Kelvin Smith Library's subscription resources.

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that automatically provides instant links to articles from journals subscribed to by CWRU Libraries – and Open Access sources – connecting you to literature discovered on the web.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

To access articles that are not available online, first the catalog to check whether we have it available in print in the library, and, if still not available, use the interlibrary loans service.

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
When the journal of interest is not available in electronic format, search the catalog in case the journal is available in print.
Pay attention to coverage to the coverage dates to make sure that the article of interest is included.

Interlibrary Loan Services
When the journal is not available neither in print or in digital format, you may order a copy of the article of interest using the Interlibrary Loan Services.

Various Web Resources

The Plastics Collection Syracuse University
The website is a treasure trove of information and images of the over 2,000 artifacts in the Plastics Collection, the largest university-based resource on the history of plastics. The site also links to more than 40 archival collections on the history of plastics, and to the library's catalog of several thousand books and periodicals related to the history, science, technology and business of plastics. New information and artifacts are added regularly.
Polymer Property Predictor and Database
The Center for Hierarchical Materials Design (CHiMaD) represents a Chicago-based consortium of the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, Northwestern-Argonne Institute for Science and Engineering (NAISE) that is a partnership between Argonne National Laboratory and Northwestern, and the Computational Institute that is a partnership between the University of Chicago and Argonne. It serves together with NIST and AFRL as a national resource for the verified codes and curated databases that will enable proliferation of a materials-by-design strategy throughout US industrial partners.
CRIPT (Community Resource for Innovation in Polymer Technology )
The Community Resource for Innovation in Polymer Technology (CRIPT) provides a platform for people working in polymer science and engineering to capture and share data. CRIPT is led by a team at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) along with collaborators in Academia, Industry, and Government, with support from the Convergence Accelerator Program of the National Science Foundation (NSF).