The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the Case libraries have licensed (paid for). The A-to-Z Title List includes journal titles, coverage dates, provider and database level-URLs that link directly to the journal whenever available. Please note that Journal Finder is not a research database; it is a list of journal titles. If you don't have a citation, or don't know in which journal the article you need may be located, you need to first search your topic in a research database or in Summon.
RefWorks is an online citation management tool that you can use to store citations in your own personal database and import citations from other online databases. Use it to automatically generate bibliographies in various formats, e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago. See support guide at: http://researchguides.case.edu/refworks
RefWorks is an online citation management tool that you can use to store citations in your own personal database and import citations from other online databases. Use it to automatically generate bibliographies in various formats, e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago. See support guide at: http://researchguides.case.edu/legacy-refworks
A research tool for accessing information in Chemical Abstracts databases, using a graphical user interface. Provides access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. **Please note: SciFinder is no longer supported on Windows XP and Windows Vista operating systems. In addition, the PatentPak Viewer will no longer be available in IE9 and older browsers.
Portal to the ISI Citation Databases, multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 96th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsis an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 96th edition of the Handbook includes 18 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. A new series highlighting the achievements of some of the major historical figures in chemistry and physics was initiated with the 94th edition. This series is continued with this edition, which is focused on Lord Kelvin, Michael Faraday, John Dalton, and Robert Boyle. This series, which provides biographical information, a list of major achievements, and notable quotations attributed to each of the renowned chemists and physicists, will be continued in succeeding editions. Each edition will feature two chemists and two physicists. The 96th edition now includes a complimentary eBook with purchase of the print version. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Section 1: Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors Descriptive Terms for Solubility Section 8: Analytical Chemistry Stationary Phases for Porous Layer Open Tubular Columns Coolants for Cryotrapping Instability of HPLC Solvents Chlorine-Bromine Combination Isotope Intensities Section 16: Health and Safety Information Materials Compatible with and Resistant to 72 Percent Perchloric Acid Relative Dose Ranges from Ionizing Radiation Updated and Expanded Tables Section 6: Fluid Properties Sublimation Pressure of Solids Vapor Pressure of Fluids at Temperatures Below 300 K Section 7: Biochemistry Structure and Functions of Some Common Drugs Section 9: Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy Bond Dissociation Energies Section 11: Nuclear and Particle Physics Summary Tables of Particle Properties Table of the Isotopes Section 14: Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics Major World Earthquakes Atmospheric Concentration of Carbon Dioxide, 1958-2014 Global Temperature Trend, 1880-2014 Section 15: Practical Laboratory Data Dependence of Boiling Point on Pressure Section 16: Health and Safety Information Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants
The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949.<br /> The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.<br /> The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information.<br /> ∗ Set begins publication in January 2004<br /> ∗ Over 1000 articles<br /> ∗ More than 600 new or updated articles<br /> ∗ 27 volumes<br /> Reviews from the previous edition:<br /> "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992<br /> "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992
Written and peer reviewed by experts from around the globe, Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology provides up-to-date coverage of traditional topics of continuing interest to professionals, researchers, educators, and students, including polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, processing and finishing, properties, and morphology. Also available online, the 15 volumes of the fourth edition include over four hundred new and revised stand-alone articles and are organized alphabetically. Topics covered include new classes of materials such as Self-Healing Polymers, imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, and important applications.
Rheology is, by common consent, a difficult subject and some of the theoretical components are often viewed as being of prohibitive complexity by scientists without a strong mathematical background. There are also the difficulties inherent in any multidisciplinary science like rheology for those with a specific training. Therefore, newcomers to the field are sometimes discouraged, and for them the existing texts on the subject - some of which are outstanding - are of limited assistance because of their depth of detail and highly mathematical nature. This book introduces the subject of rheology in terms understandable to non-experts and describes the application of rheological principles to many industrial products and processes. It provides a simple but authoritative guide which shows clearly how mathematics, physics and chemistry have contributed to the development of rheology. The generic features of all liquid-like materials are summarised, i.e. viscosity, linear viscoelasticity, normal stresses and extensional viscosity. Particular systems are then discussed, i.e. polymeric liquids and suspensions. The final chapter gives an outline of the theoretical advances which have been made. Consistent notation and nomenclature have been used throughout the book, and the key textbooks and publications which will enable the reader to follow up particular topics are listed.
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Compounds included: - human and veterinary drugs - biotech drugs and monoclonal antibodies - substances used for medical imaging - biologicals and natural products - plants and traditional medicines - nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals - agriculturals, pesticides and herbicides - Organic chemicals used in research - Food additives and supplements - dyes, colors and indicators - environmentally significant substances Information provided: - chemical, common and generic names - Over 15,000 trademarks and associated companies - CAS Registry Numbers for over 12,000 compounds - Over 8,500 chemical structures - molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition - capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance - scientific and patent literature references - physical and toxicity data - therapeutic and commercial uses - caution and hazard information In addition, there are more than 700 new and completely revised monographs, thousands of new references, trademarks and uses added to existing monographs. Now includes a companion CD-ROM which features 989 monographs no longer available in print, organic name reactions, supplemental tables and a new user interface for user-friendly searching. Features of the CD: Searchable by keywords, references, and numerical properties Search the complete contents of the 14th edition, plus nearly a thousand monographs archived from previous editions Comes with a free one-year subscription to the Merck Index Internet Edition Windows-compatible CD powered by CambridgeSoft's ChemFinder Extensively revised supplemental tables now including acronyms, vaccines, and physical constants More than 70 pages of hard to find information in one easy-to-use place
The progress in polymer science is revealed in the chapters of Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference. In Volume 1, this is reflected in the improved understanding of the properties of polymers in solution, in bulk and in confined situations such as in thin films. Volume 2 addresses new characterization techniques, such as high resolution optical microscopy, scanning probe microscopy and other procedures for surface and interface characterization. Volume 3 presents the great progress achieved in precise synthetic polymerization techniques for vinyl monomers to control macromolecular architecture: the development of metallocene and post-metallocene catalysis for olefin polymerization, new ionic polymerization procedures, and atom transfer radical polymerization, nitroxide mediated polymerization, and reversible addition-fragmentation chain transfer systems as the most often used controlled/living radical polymerization methods. Volume 4 is devoted to kinetics, mechanisms and applications of ring opening polymerization of heterocyclic monomers and cycloolefins (ROMP), as well as to various less common polymerization techniques. Polycondensation and non-chain polymerizations, including dendrimer synthesis and various "click" procedures, are covered in Volume 5. Volume 6 focuses on several aspects of controlled macromolecular architectures and soft nano-objects including hybrids and bioconjugates. Many of the achievements would have not been possible without new characterization techniques like AFM that allowed direct imaging of single molecules and nano-objects with a precision available only recently. An entirely new aspect in polymer science is based on the combination of bottom-up methods such as polymer synthesis and molecularly programmed self-assembly with top-down structuring such as lithography and surface templating, as presented in Volume 7. It encompasses polymer and nanoparticle assembly in bulk and under confined conditions or influenced by an external field, including thin films, inorganic-organic hybrids, or nanofibers. Volume 8 expands these concepts focusing on applications in advanced technologies, e.g. in electronic industry and centers on combination with top down approach and functional properties like conductivity. Another type of functionality that is of rapidly increasing importance in polymer science is introduced in volume 9. It deals with various aspects of polymers in biology and medicine, including the response of living cells and tissue to the contact with biofunctional particles and surfaces. The last volume is devoted to the scope and potential provided by environmentally benign and green polymers, as well as energy-related polymers. They discuss new technologies needed for a sustainable economy in our world of limited resources. Provides broad and in-depth coverage of all aspects of polymer science from synthesis/polymerization, properties, and characterization methods and techniques to nanostructures, sustainability and energy, and biomedical uses of polymers Provides a definitive source for those entering or researching in this area by integrating the multidisciplinary aspects of the science into one unique, up-to-date reference work Electronic version has complete cross-referencing and multi-media components Volume editors are world experts in their field (including a Nobel Prize winner)
The website is a treasure trove of information and images of the over 2,000 artifacts in the Plastics Collection, the largest university-based resource on the history of plastics. The site also links to more than 40 archival collections on the history of plastics, and to the library's catalog of several thousand books and periodicals related to the history, science, technology and business of plastics. New information and artifacts are added regularly.