Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, winning Best Reference 2005 from the Library Journal. `The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a magnificent achievement. It′s intelligent, it doesn′t shrink from the tough issues, it′s very user-friendly and beautifully produced. I really hope it will have a long life as a valued reference work. It certainly deserves to′ - The Open Society The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy and theology. The contributions are authored by over 300 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities and institutes in the world. This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for any library with collections in anthropology, as well as the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities. It provides students, academics and a wide range of interested readers with a greater understanding of, and deeper appreciation for, those facts, concepts, methods, hypotheses and perspectives that make up modern anthropology and related disciplines. Key themes include: Applied Anthropology Archaeology Biological Anthropology Biology Cultural Anthropology Evolution Geology Linguistics Paleontology Philosophy Physical Anthropology Psychology Social Anthropology Sociology Theology Theoretical Frameworks
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
CONCISE DICTIONARY OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY CONCISE DICTIONARY OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY "The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology will provide invaluable assistance to anthropological researchers both old and new. It provides an authoritative single point of reference to the wide range of technical terms that professional anthropologists are expected to understand." David Zeitlyn, Oxford University The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms the student of anthropology and the general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics, and geography. The focus is on key concepts in anthropology, with a number of biographies included to identify influential figures who have formulated central theories and conducted the most famous field research within cultures around the world. Extensive bibliographical references provide pointers for further research. Anthropology is a relatively young discipline with a complex history. Anthropological research encompasses hundreds of cultures and provides a valuable perspective on an increasingly globalized world. Written by a researcher and librarian expert in the fields of social and cultural anthropology, this Concise Dictionary offers an invaluable reference to the terminology and accomplishments of this far-reaching and diverse field.
The field of cultural anthropology describes and interprets the thought and behavior of contemporary and near-contemporary societies. Inherently pluralistic, it offers a framework in which the distinctive perspectives of each cultural world can be appreciated. Robert Winthrop's dictionary describes the major concepts that have shaped the discipline, both historically and theoretically. It sets modern anthropology in its proper context within the broader intellectual tradition. Eighty entries review the key concepts--culture, race, nature, symbolism, adaptation, the primitive, etc.--that have established the fundamental problems and issues, guided research, and served as the focus for debate in key areas of the discipline. The entries which range from 2,000 to 6,000 words in length, are both thorough in treatment and contemporary in relevance. Some entries are primarily of historical significance while others describe recent developments. Each entry contains an annotated bibliography and a guide to additional reading on the subject. While this is not primarily a technical lexicon, many terms have been glossed and explained. Designed to be useful to students of anthropology, this dictionary will assist those in other disciplines to find their way through the anthropological labyrinth.
This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. As Stevenson notes at the outset, physical or biological anthropology is a synthetic discipline which has borrowed much from evolutionary biology, anatomy, genetics, medicine, zoology, paleontology, and demography. Thus, although none of the concepts are unique to the discipline, their relative importance and the contexts in which they are used may be. Here, Stevenson presents concise entries describing the development of physical anthropological concepts followed by bibliographies including most of the major works in the field. The history of the usage of each concept is traced from its origins--often outside the discipline of physical anthropology--to the contemporary and usually multidisciplinary contexts in which physical anthropologists participate. Entries clearly delineate both the theoretical development of the concepts under discussion and their applications in physical anthropological practice. The comprehensive bibliographies enable the reader to pursue further study of concepts of particular interest. Indispensable to students just beginning their studies in the field, the dictionary will also be an invaluable reference for scholars and researchers.