Biology

Provides a search engine and index to citations and abstracts for life sciences and biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Other databases available include the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus of terminology, and numerous nucleic acid and protein sequence libraries. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (public access) and external databases to which CWRU subscribes.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.

BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline. BIOSIS Previews also covers international meetings, review articles, books, and monographs.

Index of animal biology and biodiversity content from 1864 – present, including taxonomic references and thesauri allowing searches by subject, geographical, paleontological, and taxonomic classifiers.

Nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials in this growing database showcases hand-selected materials and reference works from contributors around the world.

USDA's National Agricultural Library's citation index for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture and allied disciplines (including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences).

A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.