Research Guides: Biology: BIOL 491: Contemporary Biology and Biotechnology for Innovation

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

Research Tools

CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.
CWRU Libraries Discovery This link opens in a new window
Single gateway for searching CWRU Libraries' print and digital resource. Includes online catalog, licensed database content, and OhioLINK holdings.
CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all print and digital holdings of CWRU and affiliated libraries.

KSL Research Databases
An A-Z list of available databases & related resources.

KSL Research Guides This link opens in a new window
Subject and course guides created by CWRU librarians.
OhioLINK Library Catalog (Classic) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in OhioLINK member libraries using the classic catalog interface.
OhioLINK Catalog This link opens in a new window
OhioLINK catalog to search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items from all member libraries.

How to Use This Guide

KSL staff has enjoyed working with the past students of this class due to their contagious innovation and enthusiasm. We enjoy helping you learn to use these new resources–they'll save you hours of time. We look forward to your questions!

Topics tend to cross many disciplines and specialties so KSL offers a team to assist:

Recommended Guides

The following guides are designed by the librarian expert to assist in your research.

Biology
by Evan Meszaros Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 729 views this year
Biomedical Engineering
by Daniela Solomon Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 1753 views this year
Chemistry
by Evan Meszaros Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 2198 views this year
Marketing
by Karen Oye Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 405 views this year
Patents
by Evan Meszaros Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 873 views this year
Technical Standards
by Daniela Solomon Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 747 views this year
Citation Management
by Daniela Solomon Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 250 views this year

Recommended Books

Find below a sampling of recommended books. Find more books by using subject headings such as biotechnology.

Catalog subject search: Biotechnology

Biotechnology : a comprehensive training guide for the biotechnology industry by Syed Imtiaz Haider, Anika Ashok
Call Number: Kelvin Smith Stacks TP248.22.H35 2009
ISBN: 1420084488
Publication Date: 2009
Biotechnology for beginners by Reinhard Renneberg ; edited by Arnold L. Demain ; foreword by Tom A. Rapoport ; illustrations, Darja Sußbier ; translated from the German by Renate FitzRoy and Jackie Jones
Call Number: Kelvin Smith Stacks TP248.2.R465 2008
ISBN: 0123735815
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology: Bioprocess, Bioseparation, and Cell Technology by edited by Michael C. Flickinger
Call Number: online
ISBN: 0471799300
Publication Date: 2010
The evolution of biotechnology : from Natufians to nanotechnology by Martina Newell-McGloughlin and Edward Re
Call Number: Kelvin Smith Stacks TP248.2.M434 2006
ISBN: 1402051484
Publication Date: 2006
Glossary of biotechnology and nanobiotechnology terms by Kimball Nill
Call Number: Kelvin Smith Core Reference TP248.16.F54 2006
ISBN: 0849366097
Publication Date: 2006
Handbook of Plant Biotechnology by editors in chief, Paul Christou and Harry Klee
Call Number: online
ISBN: 047185199X
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Call Number: Various
ISBN: 0471484946
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
NanoBioTechnology : bioinspired devices and materials of the future by edited by Oded Shoseyov and Ilan Levy
Call Number: several versions
ISBN: 1588298949
Publication Date: 2008
Ullmann's biotechnology and biochemical engineering
Call Number: Kelvin Smith Core Reference TP248.2.U44 2007
ISBN: 3527316035
Publication Date: 2007

Recommended Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
USDA's National Agricultural Library's citation index for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture and allied disciplines (including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences).
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline. BIOSIS Previews also covers international meetings, review articles, books, and monographs.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a SciFinderⁿ account (required)
Platform provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.