Research Guides: Music scores online: Early music

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

The Cantigas de Santa Maria
Medieval-era manuscripts written during the reign of Alfonso X "El Sabio" (1221-1284), offering one of the largest collections of monophonic (solo) songs from the middle ages. This site provides a facsimile of a facsimile, in black and white.
Choir books and manuscripts written in choir-book notation (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)
27 manuscripts, most from the Bavarian court at the time of di Lasso.
Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst (Monuments of German musical art) - First Series
Scans provided by the Munich Digital Library. A general search for 'Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst' will retrieve more results than you need; use the 'content type' filter for 'music score', or add a specific composer's name to the search.
Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst - 2. Folge: Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Bayern
Similar to collection above; the online version complements incomplete holdings in the Kulas Music Collection
Düben Collection at Uppsala University
A digitized catalogue presenting meta-data and scanned facsimile of the manuscripts in the Düben collection, a large and important collection of musical manuscripts and prints from the 17th and early 18th centuries.
Early Music Online (Royal Holloway)
Digitized 16th c. prints

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
"Books" in this case means "anything with words", so you will find facsimiles of lute song publications and such..."virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700." (i.e., no manuscripts). An often-forgotten source for early music. Licensed database, available only through Case network/VPN (If you're reading this from another institution, check your local library for holdings).

Alain Naigeon
Editions of Renaissance Music, and a few facsimiles
Italian Madrigal Resource Center
Martin Morell's project with PDF editions, MIDIs and translations of Italian madrigals. You must register to download, but it's free. A great resource for a repertoire underrepresented in modern editions.