Political Science

The premier international newspaper with global focus on business, economic news, companies, markets, technology, finance, commodities, life & arts, and more. Respected opinion columnists. Customized features (fast FT, Equities tear sheets with forecasts + historical data, personal folders) and the pink ePaper for traditional reading. Mobile app & newsletters available.

Create an account with your CWRU Net ID for full access. Once you have created an account, navigate directly to ft.com for future access.

With a Kelvin Smith Library-provided NYTimes.com pass, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com, and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within the CWRU network, a NYTimes.com pass can be used from any location until expiration documented upon enrollment confirmation (typically one year).

Winner of 38 Pulitzer Prizes for outstanding journalism, the Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more. It’s a critical resource of curated content in print, online and mobile apps, complete with breaking news streams, interactive features, video, online columns and blogs.

Create an account with your CWRU Net ID for full access. Once you have created an account, navigate directly to wsj.com for future access.

Students, Faculty, and Staff: if you have a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to your CWRU-sponsored WSJ subscription, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.

Provides translations of the Arabic and Persian media including top newspapers and some satellite TV. Coverage of opinions, business news, political and society/cultural pieces. Each brief also contains precisely translated quotes, statistics and context. Includes a searchable database of over 50,000 archived items. Ideally suited for researchers, journalists, students, policy makers and advocates.

Policy Central provides very current full text information on public policy, political, and congressional issues. It is the online home for: National Journal (a leading weekly journal of politics, policy and government with a full text, searchable story archive back to 1977. Also included is biographical data and analysis for all members of Congress and daily calendar of House/Senate floor committee activity. Updated frequently - some sections twice a day.

Selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers and other news sources.

Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Registration is not required for campus and VPN access, but to take full advantage of personalized features, you must create a profile.

Training resources:

Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.

This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.