Research Guides: Political Science: POSC 473 Politics of the European Union

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 61 views this year

EU News Outlets

Independent News & Analysis

Online Introductory Guides

Research Reference Source Examples

The European Union : a critical guide by Steven P. McGiffen
Call Number: JN32.M34 2005
ISBN: 0745325068
Publication Date: 2005

Here are some of the many scholarly reference resources covering the EU that are available in the Case Libraries collection. Be sure also to consult the OhioLink Electronic Book collection for additional resources.

A dictionary of the European Union by David Phinnemore and Lee McGowan
ISBN: 1857431456
Publication Date: 2004
The European Union and global governance : a handbook by Jens-Uwe Wunderlich and David J Bailey, eds.
Call Number: JN30 .E94 2011
ISBN: 1857435095
Publication Date: 2011
Other Guides
Additional examples of scholarly guides from the Case Libraries Catalogs on various topics, including EU treaties and agreements.
Other Handbooks
Additional topical handbooks related to European Union history, politics, economics, and law.
Other Encyclopedias
Several encyclopedic resources and directories covering multiple topics.

Historical Scholarship Examples

50 years of EU economic dynamics [electronic resource] : integration, financial markets, and innovations by Richard Tilly, Paul J.J. Welfens, Michael Heise (editors)
ISBN: 3540740546
Publication Date: 2007

There is lots of historical scholarship about the EU available from the Case Libraries collections. See the books and book lists below for examples.

Building European Union : a documentary history and analysis by edited by Trevor Salmon and Sir William Nicoll
Call Number: JN15.B79 1997
ISBN: 0719044464
Publication Date: 1997
Additional Examples
Here you'll find a list of several other books in the Case Libraries Collection devoted to historical analysis of the history of the EU.

Examples of Books on the Lisbon Treaty

Case Libraries: Books on the Lisbon Treaty

Scholarship on the EU

State of the European Union Series
A monograph series sponsored by the European Union Studies Association (EUSA)

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Major Scholarly Journals for EU Studies

EU Structure

EU Documents, Legislation, Reports and Publications

Online Resources

EU Serial Publications

European Economy

Public Opinion

Eurobarometer

European Statistics Resources

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Full text access includes OECD Quarterly International Trade Statistics, International Trade by Commodities Statistics, and OECD Health Statistics. Additional sources also availabe for preview.

European Studies Associations

EU Research Centers in the United States

European Studies Cente - University of Pittsburgh