Research Guides: ENGL 301: Linguistic Analysis: Research Tools and Encyclopedias

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

World Atlas of Languages Online
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of authors.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Catalog of the over 7,000 known living languages of the world. Profiles for every language include estimated number of speakers worldwide, endangerment status, maps, language families, language classification and dialects. REQUIRES VPN
MLA Language Map
The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
Offers reference searching and interactive browsing by region, quotations with a complete bibliography extending from the 17th century through the 21st, and maps illustrating where words were collected.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2 ed.) Oxford Univ. Press
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by Patrick Colm Hogan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521866897
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences addresses basic entries for those unfamiliar with a given topic and more specific entries for those seeking more specialized knowledge. It incorporates both well-established findings and cutting-edge research and classical approaches and new theoretical innovations. The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
Sage Handbook of Sociolinguistics
Call Number: P40.S224 2011
ISBN: 1847870953
KSL Core Ref