Research Guides: Design & Innovation: Articles & Databases

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Research Database List – and Subject Lists

Get quick, convenient links to EJournals & Research Databases in a thin gray banner near the top of the Case Catalog page.

EJournals helps you find online journals & the databases that cover their subjects.

Resarch Databases (all) list includes all Case licenses–get targeted databases via the Alll Subjects drop-down menu.

Select the Management Subject for the databases best suited for WSOM, or others as needed (engineering, etc.)

TIP: Always have your computer on the network–via Case Wireless or VPN, before you begin work.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
Economist This link opens in a new window
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.

Finding Articles...and a Strategy for "Finding More Like It"

A fast way to build upon prior research is to build upon a known article or author. Locate the article with the EJournals link on the Case Catalog page to see online journal formats and/or a database that includes the journal title.

When you know what database covers a journal with good content, you can follow & read the journal in there–and you can also do more searching within the database. Use Business Source Complete as the primary business & management database, building a search construct that works for your topic.

Example: Cover story of Bloomberg Business Week September 22, 2014 is an 8-page article about Apple's Tim Cook. Find Bloomberg Businessweek–and then find articles similar to Three Long Years for One More Thing... (cover story). Brad Stone and Adam Satariano, Bloomberg Businessweek. 9/22/2014, Issue 4395, p 64-71.

Find the journal:

Businessweek or Bloomberg Businessweek on EJournals portal
Select/click through the traditional title Bloomberg Businessweek
- Select/click through the September 22, 2014 date
Bloomberg Businessweek is auto-filled into the database as a journal title
Article displays
Click title hyperlink = see .pdf or .html text, full abstract & indexed terms, for potential new search
"Tools" on the right sidebar:
- Easy print, save, email options
- Export to citation managers.
- Permalink creates stable url, insert in emails, documents = seamless click-through back to full article
- Folders: save to a temporary session folder. Create an account [top of screen] to save permanently, name folders for specific projects.

Save Time, Print Less, Find Again Faster

Tools in the EBSCOhost platform make life easiser and save time. You can print only when you need to, avoid downloading tons of articles on your computer–often with obscure naming structure. Create a personal workspace & then always Sign In when you go to one of the EBSCOhost databases with the large blue icon. Customize your result display & number per page, export preference, & more.

• In any EBSCOhost database, "Sign In" at the top of the screen.

1st time only : "Create A New Account" using whatever is easy to remember
Select "Preferences" at the top banner, select 50 results per page, Standard View display format. Choose other options for export & citation style.
Standard Display saves time, informs quickly with a line or two of text on the results page... vs Brief/no text display

Mark the folder on an article [folderturns yellow], from 1) result page or 2) click thru title hyperlink = full page view
"Saved" articles remain permanently if you signed in at the start; otherwise they are only saved during your session
- Sign in when you start...mark/save items
- Go to your folder at the top, "Create" a new folder & name it
- Select your marked items & "Move to" the newly named folder
- Return to it at any time, share it, print-read from it, etc.
- Folders can be put inside other folders–organize long/large projects
- Export what you want to use for writing to your chosen citation manager