Research Guides: Physics: Research Databases

Research & Engagement Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Kelvin Smith Library
Case Western Reserve University
11055 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44106-7151

216-368-3509

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Environmental, & Planetary Sciences (Geology), Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, & Statistics, Physics, Science & Technology

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Primary Databases

Find articles, papers, reports, more...

The Case libraries and OhioLINK subscribe to hundreds of premium research databases that provide information which is not otherwise available over the Web.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
ArXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to preprints in physics, mathematics, statistics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, economics, and electrical engineering and systems science.
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
A current awareness resource for information on scholarly journals and books. Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals and books; also includes relevant, evaluated Web sites and documents.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Collection of IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards from 1988 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides citation data for journals, authors, articles, and reviews, allowing users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database via the EBSCOhost interface. Features millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides a search engine and index to citations and abstracts for life sciences and biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Other databases available include the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus of terminology, and numerous nucleic acid and protein sequence libraries. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (public access) and external databases to which CWRU subscribes.
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a SciFinderⁿ account (required)
Platform provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
ADS - Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Abstracting service, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory under a NASA cooperative agreement, offering a search interface into the literature covering astronomy, planetary science, physics, and the arXiv e-prints.

INSPIRE
High-Energy Physics Literature Database

Additional resources

Research Databases: Science and Technology
An alphabetical list of science and technology databases available through Case and OhioLINK.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Conferences
Physicsworld
The member magazine of the Institute of Physics.

Physics