Research Guides: Entrepreneurship @CWRU: Industry Overview & Analysis

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

IBISWord Sample VC Industry

Use simple search terms in IBISWorld, browse results: Venture Capital

From the Cleveland Federal Reserve

Data, charts, Research Topics

Economic Indicators & Data
Latest on Housing, Home Sales, CPI, PPI, Industrial Productivity, more...
Regional Analysis
Employment/Unemployment '10, Housing '09, state or MSA

Wharton Podcasts

Hear what CEOs, Wharton faculty, experts say about news, trends, leadership & more...

Industry Overview & Analysis

Industry reports reveal trends, name leaders, sub-sectors, and more. Use "search within a report" feature for words like global, international, or specific company names

IBISWorld Industry Market Research a top choice prior to job fairs & interviews! Graphics + text show content to great advantage & is appealing in presentations. Left menu features easy to use & includes financial & key statistics for industries (including industry data, key ratios, annual change, industry financials. Favorite menu items listing most used, others not listed:

Industry At A Glance: Industry SWOT chart & key statistics, annual growth, product/services segmentation, key trends
Products & Markets: Supply chain, external drivers, products & services, factors for new/success
Competitive Landscape: Market share, key success factors, barriers to entry, globalization
Major Players: includes name/market share%, and other companies. Search those names in Mergent Online database
Operating Conditions: capital intensity, tech factors, revenue volatility, regulations & policy (high/low)
Key Statistics: industry data [downloadable] year, $, wages, annual change, key ratios, industry financial ratios

First Research has a top menu function for Industry Prospector for industry metrics; in the center of the database opening page search by NAICS industry code(s) for complete reports; includes 900+ North American industry segments

Expand left sidebar for 'chapters'
Use "Full Profile" report link on top right of a report page.

BCC Research Market Forecasting has large reports, features a summary chart for metrics & data related to a report; easy to use & download; there are also menu choices for List of Tables & List of Figures in any report–with downloadable data.

Start with a simple broad concept search term, change the "Items per page" to 50 results & browse
Note the "Code alpha/numeric" tag – it indicates the report Category; a topic is often within 2 Categories/Codes
Left side of result list: sort for Relevant or Recent. Best reports from BCC Publishing & are interactive. "Partner" category reports are .pdfs
Select a report, view left sidebar & expand sections. So a "Search within" at top of a report page to refine the broad topic area
Note the left sidebar for Companies; then research companies in Mergent Online database

Passport Global Market Research Tip: pause to view landing page Featured Insights (5-6), DashBoards and Companies on the right side of screen. Top of screen white banner shows Industries, Economies, Consumers, Channels, each with related sub-menus that appear beneath them. If you've explored the main page with those options, then a new page displays with several 'Explore" boxes. Left sidebar will display "Explore Themes" for frequently searched topics. Center of page will display "Strategic Insights"

Find large companies listed in large custom company .ppt files that will include industry data
In a report, use left sidebar menu links for report table of contents, plus menu picks for Related Statistics, and Related Industry Reports, Related Company Profiles, and more
Tip: note the lower right side "From our Blog" for emerging trends and markets of global interest and importance

Gartner is licensed by UTech for CWRU only, no public access. Search 8 categories, set up alerts, stay up on industry technology, concerns, advancements, and more. Create profile to save reports & get custom alerts. Content licensed for CWRU is approximately 90%.

Mintel Market Reports Use for markets & industries from consumer perspective, use, need. Download segments of a report to create custom content. Keyword search, browse results to see related reports. "Cross category" options may appear on report title. Search concepts (e.g., inflation) for Insight document with key graphics, charts, quotes for concepts that will affect consumers, e.g., "How inflation will shape EMEA consumer's behaviour in 2022"

Reports: all have executive summary, infographic overview, full .pdf report, databook. Report content has overview, market, consumer, brand/company, data and may show "related reports"

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Includes in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, with 9 tabs of data & text analysis. Includes supply chain, Industry At-A-Glance (forecasts, data, sectors, market share, drivers), Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competition, Key Companies, Operating Conditions, and Key Statistics with Industry Ratios. Includes U.S. Business Environment Profiles, brief data synopses on consumer behavior, commodities/goods, economy, finance, government, and many other related data indicators. Provides icons for Clean Print, Search Within a Report, and Tutorials.
First Research Industry Intelligence US and Global This link opens in a new window
900+ industry segments, full or quarterly profiles. Analysis, forecasts, trends, challenges. State Profiles employment, real estate, business trends. Rank industries with Prospector metrics. Main Page: Welcome Toolkit, Inside News,
Trends of the Week, Updates.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Analysis, magic quadrants, hype cycles offer insights and analysis of markets & topics where technology has an impact on industries: Energy, Higher Education, Financial Services, Government & Public Sector, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail, High Tech & Telecom. Create a personal profile for alerts and preferences.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
BCC Research Market Forecasting This link opens in a new window
Analyst reports in many industries, including a global focus. Reports from an overview of a market (e.g., 2012 Energy Resources Review), plus market segments. Select column for "Report Details" for charts, highlights, table of contents and major chapter links, a good road map for these very large reports.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
Mintel Market Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.

New Module in 2022: U.S. Culture & Identity Reports
Passport: Global Market Research: Data & Analysis This link opens in a new window
Data and analysis for global industry, country, and consumer business research. Search to create detailed custom queries. Dashboards give fast visualization of large data. Create 'My Pages' login to save research. Videos on the Help menu are essential to an efficient start using Passport. Hover over the top menu bar and see all categories; select/view a category for charts, latest research, interviews, top news, global analysis, Did You Know, global briefing documents, and ranking tools for historical and forecast.

No form of commercial use of the Intelligence shall be permitted. No one can knowingly permit anyone other than Authorised Users to use the Service and/or the Intelligence; or publish or re-distribute or make available to third parties Intelligence which any of them extract from the Service.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.

Commodities & Markets & Data

Today's Markets – A Global View from FT

See "News" on stocks & trends and IPOs

"Opinion & Analysis" on finance

"Recommended" for varied market news including cryptocurrencies, volatility, Chinese business & more, as it happens.

Financial Times lists Commodities under the main menu bar of Markets
Sign up 1st time on FT with network ID/Department/status, from Management folder of Research Databases.
- Get the app, then simply login via SSO or VPN at ft.com (either mobile or on computer) Create folders to 'watch' topics, read later.

Economic Indicators & Statistical Sources (government & licensed resources):

Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Consumer Price Index, from Department of Labor: summary, historical, US City averages. Announcements, tables.
Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
Gross Domestic Product, GDP from Bureau of Economic Advisors
World Economic Outlook
World Economic Outlook, from International Monetary Fund IFM. Exchange rate, financial & economic indicators for countries around the world; reports & analysis on global economic issues for major country groups and individual countries. Updated twice a year.
World Bank

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The premier international newspaper with global focus on business, economic news, companies, markets, technology, finance, commodities, life & arts, and more. Respected opinion columnists. Customized features (fast FT, Equities tear sheets with forecasts + historical data, personal folders) and the pink ePaper for traditional reading. Mobile app & newsletters available.

Create an account with your CWRU Net ID for full access. Once you have created an account, navigate directly to ft.com for future access.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to statistical data and comparisons for an eclectic, wide-ranging, and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. But the data also includes numerous other exclusive sources including industry, marketing, and trade groups. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information.