This section helps you understand how a database interface works. The next section, Using Search Techniques, gives examples to try.
No. 1. The interface lets you enter search term(s) and choose which keyword index is searched. The search boxes use logical connectors such as AND or OR. You can also use these connectors within a search box.
No. 2. The interface lets you apply pre-search limits to any search. This lets you filter the type(s) of material you're looking for. Common limits include publication date and full-text.
No. 3. After trying a search you'll see a list of results. Think of your search results as an extension of the first search space. You can apply post-search limits as you did before, and more. These will feed back into and repeat your original search.
No. 4. Most databases provide a browse index, which lets you search an alphabetical list to find terms indexed by the database. You can transfer matching terms to a search space within the browse index, which takes you back to the home interface to view results.
No. 5. Databases also list authorized headings for subject, personal names, corporate names, or geographic places. A thesaurus shows these headings hierarchically so you can see how they relate to broader or narrower terms. Like the browse index, a thesaurus lets you gather terms or phrases for a search, then takes you back to the interface, where your results appear.
No. 6. Search History is another work space, which archives your current database session. Use the search history to connect your previous searches using logical connectors (AND, OR, or NOT). This maximizes your search efforts.
No. 7. Many databases provide parallel search spaces which do not refer back to the interface. The most common is the Cited Reference search space. Cited Reference searches look through the bibliographies and footnotes of articles in the database to tell you who's been citing the work of a given author or work.
No. 8. Databases vendors often provide more than one database, which you can search simultaneously. But doing so may alter the interface. For example, keyword indexes may not be available for each database. Or, you may see browse indexes and thesauri appearing multiple times -- one for each database being searched.
No. 9. An interface offers specialized tools, such Help screens. Use the help screen to understand the nuances of an interface, its content, and specific actions.