CWRU library subscriptions are limited to authorized users (CWRU/CIM faculty, students and staff). There are three ways you can access our online resources:
Library computers on the CWRU network
CaseWireless network
Forticlient VPN (Virtual Private Network)
VPN is client software (free download for anyone with a Case ID and password) which authenticates you when you are using an internet connection from home. Or, if you use the CaseGuest wireless network, you must use VPN.
If you're having network or computer trouble, contact UTECH. If you're having trouble with a databases, contact the library.
You can view and manage your library account via the CWRU Libraries online catalog. Use your network ID and passphrase to login.
All students are expected to manage their library accounts. Contact the library if you need help.
The music libraries at CWRU and CIM share an online catalog. Music students at CWRU are welcome to borrow from CIM, and vice versa.
Kelvin Smith Library is the main CWRU library, housing the Kulas Music Collection on its first floor, near the art gallery. Graduate students may enjoy use of a reading room on the second floor (card swipe required).
Cleveland Public Library's downtown campus offers a music section within its Fine Arts Department, as well as a large media collection You can get a free library card and access their online databases.
The Cleveland Heights/University Heights Public Library is an independent library, but is part of the ClevNet consortium with Cleveland Public, allowing users to request book delivery across locations.
The Cuyahoga County Public Library also offers free library cards and database access. And, because CCPL is a member of OhioLINK, having a card lets you continue borrowing OhioLINK items even after you graduate.
KSL, CPL, and CCPL all subscribe to the Kanopy database (streaming film). However, content may vary between academic and public library subscriptions. If you can't find a film in KSL's Kanopy collection, try CPL or CCPL.
OhioLINK is statewide library consortium of which CWRU is a member. Its catalog lists holdings of all OhioLINK members, where you can request items for delivery to CWRU. You'll receive an email when the item arrived, usually within a week. Items that are 'local use only' do not circulate. CIM students should request OhioLINK items through Robinson Music Library.
Use interlibrary loan when you can't find an item locally or on OhioLINK, including journal articles. Our ILL system is called ILLiad. CIM students should place ILL requests through Robinson Music Library.
The library's eJournal Portal provides access to online journals. It's the best place to check access for a specific title or issue. A title search for the journal Early Music shows we have access to its online version from several sources. Note that some may have an 'embargo' that delays full text access.
