Skip to Main Content

Music

Music Library Resources at Case

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

Archival/Special Collections Materials

The Kelvin Smith Library Special Collections contains a number of collections of manuscripts related to composers who were active in Cleveland:

Other music materials in Special Collections are listed in: An annotated bibliography of rare musical materials in the Libraries of Case Western Reserve University.

Articles on music materials in Special Collections:

  • Coperario, John, and Ross W. Duffin. Fantasia à 5: From the Blossom Partbooks at Case Western Reserve University. London: Viola da Gamba Society of Great Britain, 2008.
  • Duffin, Ross W. "Princely Pastimes, Or a Courtly Catch, being the History of another Musical Fragment at Case Western Reserve University." Notes - Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 49.3 (1993): 911-24.
  • Duffin, RW. "Voices and Viols, Bibles and Bindings: The Origins of the Blossom Partbooks." Early Music History 33 (2014): 61-108.

Web Archives

The collections of web archives are curated by LOC Music Division staff and comprise a unique part of their born-digital collections. Staff create these collections to preserve large volumes of web-based content of enduring value that can disappear at any moment.

CWRU Libraries Discovery