Research Guides: Dance: Search Collections

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Searching Collections: Basic Tools

See tabs to the left under 'Search Collections' to find different kinds of content. Keep in mind that where you search will depend on the type of content you're looking for. Online dance resources include journals and books, reference works in dance, indexes to the literature of dance, and streaming video of performances.

Use our online catalog, databases, and eJournal portal to find resources for your work.

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all print and digital holdings of CWRU and affiliated libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog (Classic) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in OhioLINK member libraries using the classic catalog interface.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

A-Z List of KSL's Databases
KSL offers access to hundreds of databases with different specialties, functionalities, and interfaces. Use the tabs at the top to filter by subject or type.

Among the print sources at Kelvin Smith Library, these encyclopedias provide basic reference:

International Encyclopedia of Dance: a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Incorporated by Selma J. Cohen; Perspectives Foundation Inc., Staff (Editor)
Call Number: GV1585.I586 1998
ISBN: 019509462X
Publication Date: 1998-03-26
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: ML100.N48 2001
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003-02-11

Likewise, these databases are good online reference starting points:

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Integrated music reference resource that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.