Research Guides: Finding Tests and Measures: Social Determinants of Health

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 130 views this year

Library Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health and many other allied health disciplines. Contents include full-text journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material relevant to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database via the EBSCOhost interface. Features millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
A database designed to help identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science; provides sources, abstract, and reviewer(s) when applicable.

Websites for Finding Measures

HSRR (Health Services and Sciences Research Resources)

Produced by the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology. Provides information about research datasets and instruments/indices used in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Sciences, and Public Health. Includes links to PubMed and to the sources of the instruments when available.

PROQOLID, the Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality of Life Instruments Database
: This site is for patient reported outcomes and quality of life assessments. It is divided into two parts: Free access gives basic information about instruments; advanced access is available to members only and offers more complete descriptions, review copies of most instruments, and some user manuals.

RAND Health - Surveys and Tools

All of the surveys and measures listed at this site from RAND Health are public documents. They are available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Please note: Some of the materials listed are not available from RAND Health. The links listed for these will take you to other websites.

FACIT - Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy

Provides a collection of Quality of Life (QOL) questionnaires targeted to the management of chronic illness. Although cancer is a major focus, there are also instruments for fatigue, treatment satisfaction, spiritual well-being, HIV disease, multiple sclerosis, and other chronic conditions. Sample questionnaires can be downloaded for free; permission for use of the scales in English can be obtained by agreeing to a users agreement and completing the Collaborators' Project Information Form.

City of Hope Pain & Palliative Care Resource Center - Research Instruments/Resources
: Includes clinical and research tools addressing quality of life, pain, psychosocial assessment, medical staff knowledge and attitudes, brief pain surveys, palliative care and needs assessments from various sources.