Research Guides: Academic Inquiry Seminar (AIQS): How to Find Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Finding Scholarly Articles with Databases

Databases are a great place to start your research because they provide reliable resources in a more narrow scope. This makes it easier to apply filters, skim results, and find relevant sources.

Academic Search Complete

One of the best tools you have for finding articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers--for AIQS or nearly any other class you take at CWRU--is the multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC). ASC is an easy-to-use platform that serves as a great introduction to the world of databases! In addition to keyword searching, you can:

limit your results to "Peer Review" (a common requirement for research assignments)
filter by Source Type (academic journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.)
limit by date

The screen shot below is what the ASC database looks like. Clicking the image below will take you to ASC and you can start exploring!

JSTOR

Another database that can useful for getting started is JSTOR. JSTOR also covers a wide range of disciplines, although it tends to highlight sources from the humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business.

The screen shot below is what the JSTOR database looks like. Clicking the image below will take you to JSTOR and you can start exploring!

Remember to use the CaseWireless network on campus. If off campus, you can use VPN with the DUO app, or OpenAthens authentication (which you can learn more about in the box labeled Reminder: Online Access).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.

A-Z List of KSL's Databases
KSL offers access to hundreds of databases with different specialties, functionalities, and interfaces. Use the tabs at the top to filter by subject or type.
Find articles and other resources using KSL's Search Everything tab
Search Everything really means search everything! This includes physical and digital books, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, and more! You'll get results from all of CWRU's libraries plus other libraries throughout the state of Ohio.

Using Discovery

Using Discovery (the search bar below or the Search Everything tab on the library homepage) combs through everything that CWRU has access to. This includes the physical and digital catalogues of all of the campus libraries along with CIA and CIM, all databases and e-journals, newspapers, magazines, and videos.