Research Guides: HSTY 235 Pirates in the Early Modern World : Reference Shelf

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 299 views this year

Topical Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The collection includes 702 reference e-books or 2.2 million full-text entries that covers across disciplines. Filter your search results to find longer articles under the right-most tab titled "All Lengths".

Below are examples of topical reference materials that cover the history of piracy from our Case Libraries collection.

Pirates of the Americas by David F. Marley
ISBN: 1598842013
Pirates of the Americas begins in the mid- to late-17th century Caribbean -- the earliest cradle of piracy in the New World -- with detailed coverage of Dutch and French corsairs, English rovers such as Henry Morgan, and the Spaniards who fought against them all. The second volume marks the retreat of piracy into new hunting grounds -- the Pacific and Red Sea -- from the 1690s to the early 18th century, ending with the final pursuit into extinction in North America of last-gasp renegades such as William Kidd, Bartholomew Roberts, and Blackbeard.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History by John B. Hattendorf
ISBN: 0195130758
Naval warfare: An International Encyclopedia by Spencer C. Tucker
ISBN: 1576072193
The Oxford Companion to Ships at the Sea by I. C. B. Dear and Peter Kemp, eds.
ISBN: 019920568X

Comprehensive Reference Collections

KSL Online Reference Collection: From our database directory, this list of reference resources includes biographical dictionaries, topical encyclopedias, handbooks and guides, and much more.

OhioLink Electronic Reference Book Collection: A collection of thousands of full-text reference and scholarly publications. Fully searchable and covering multiple subjects.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

HSTY 235 Pirates in the Early Modern World

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

Topical Reference Sources

Comprehensive Reference Collections

CWRU Libraries Discovery