Research Guides: HSTY 235 Pirates in the Early Modern World : Find Primary Sources

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 130 views this year

Electronic Full Text Collections

These full-text online archives contain many documents related to the history of piracy.

** Note the document examples.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States (or British colonies) from 1639 to 1800, based on Evans' American Bibliography.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States from 1800-1819.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Works in English from 1474-1700. EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere. Titles range from the first book printed in English by William Caxton through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare to the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Primarily in English - also includes other languages.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences from the late-15th to early-21st centuries. Manuscripts and printed and visual primary sources as well as secondary resources such as scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).

Primary Source Documents Online

Library of Congress Piracy Trials Collection - These primary source documents cover pre-1923 piracy trials.

Library of Congress "Golden Age of Piracy" - This collection of links leads to everything from webcasts to primary source documents to prints and photographs of pirates and piracy.

Proceedings of the Old Bailey - A searchable edition of nearly 200,000 criminal trials held in London's court.

HSTY 235 Pirates in the Early Modern World

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

Electronic Full Text Collections

Primary Source Documents Online

CWRU Libraries Discovery