Research Guides: HSTY 235 Pirates in the Early Modern World : Home

Librarian

Erin Smith

she/her

Subjects: Academic Inquiry Seminars (AIQS), SAGES

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Pirates in the Early Modern World

Welcome to the library research guide for your course on the history of piracy! This guide contains a collection of research tips, strategies and resources to help you find more information for the activities and projects in this class. Please also feel free to contact the KSL librarian for history if you have questions or need help with assignments, papers or projects.

Research Tools

KSL Research Databases
An A-Z list of available databases & related resources.

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all print and digital holdings of CWRU and affiliated libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog (Classic) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in OhioLINK member libraries using the classic catalog interface.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.
OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertation Center This link opens in a new window
Free database of Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities. This database contains the abstracts for all included electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1743–present, and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains tens of millions of records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Interlibrary Loan
ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system, will obtain books not available at CWRU campus libraries or through OhioLINK, or journal articles not available full text online or in print on campus.