Research Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Recommended Databases

KSL Research Databases
An A-Z list of available databases & related resources.

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Database providing full text access to peer-reviewed journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. This database also includes the index of proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text database of articles and monographs on environmental studies and related subjects (e.g. agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, and sustainability).
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a SciFinderⁿ account (required)
Platform provides articles, patents, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in chemistry and related disciplines. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines, with greatest emphasis in STEM fields.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Platform that provides access to journal articles and e-books from across a wide range of disciplines, predominantly scientific, technical, and medical.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences.
TRB-Transportation Research Board Publications Index This link opens in a new window
A searchable index of Transportation Research Board (TRB) publications. The TRB Publications Index contains over 21,000 annotated citations for all TRB and Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP) publications from the mid 1970s until present. All NCHRP and TCRP publications, Special Reports, Circulars, TR News, Conference Proceedings, and Records are included. Each individual paper in the Transportation Research Records, Conference Proceedings, Circulars, and TR News is indexed.

Transportation Energy Data Book
Attempt to compile a comprehensive set of statistics on transportation activity. Currently, the Vehicle Technologies Program and the Hydrogen, Fuel Cells, and Infrastructure Technologies Program in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, support the Data Book production.

More resources can be found at these online portals. For articles outside KSL subscriptions, use interlibrary loan service to request.

American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
AISC's ePubs and freePubs collection features free content--such AISC's latest standards and specifications, as well as paid content.
International Concrete Abstracts Portal
Publications from American Concrete Institute (ACI).

Where to search for journals & E-journals

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains records for all print and digital holdings of CWRU and affiliated libraries.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center, EJC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic journals available through OhioLINK.

How to Access Articles

Some articles may be readily available fulltext from the index you searched in. Use LibKey Nomad browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the Kelvin Smith Library's subscription resources.

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that automatically provides instant links to articles from journals subscribed to by CWRU Libraries – and Open Access sources – connecting you to literature discovered on the web.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

To access articles that are not available online, first the catalog to check whether we have it available in print in the library, and, if still not available, use the interlibrary loans service.

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
When the journal of interest is not available in electronic format, search the catalog in case the journal is available in print.
Pay attention to coverage to the coverage dates to make sure that the article of interest is included.

Interlibrary Loan Services
When the journal is not available neither in print or in digital format, you may order a copy of the article of interest using the Interlibrary Loan Services.