Research Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Structural Engineering

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Aug 14, 2025 329 views this year

Recommended books

Comprehensive Structural Integrity by R. O. Ritchie (Editor); B. L. Karihaloo (Editor); Ian Milne (Editor-In-Chief, Editor)
ISBN: 0080437494

Publication Date: 2003

The aim of this major reference work is to provide a first point of entry to the literature for the researchers in any field relating to structural integrity in the form of a definitive research/reference tool which links the various sub-disciplines that comprise the whole of structural integrity.
Handbook of Technical Diagnostics by Horst Czichos (Editor)
ISBN: 3642258506

Publication Date: 2013

This book presents concepts, methods and techniques to examine symptoms of faults and failures of structures, systems and components and to monitor functional performance and structural integrity.

Knovel
Knovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering and applied sciences disciplines.
ASM Handbooks Online
Authoritative source of extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains information on materials processes, properties, performance, and selection.

Recommended Databases

ASCE Library
Database providing full text access to peer-reviewed journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. This database also includes the index of proceedings, e-books, and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
GeoRef
Index of geoscience literature, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage: geology of North American, 1785–present, and geology of the rest of the world, 1933–present. Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey (USGS).
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
ScienceDirect
Platform that provides access to journal articles and e-books from across a wide range of disciplines, predominantly scientific, technical, and medical.
TRB-Transportation Research Board Publications Index
A searchable index of Transportation Research Board (TRB) publications. The TRB Publications Index contains over 21,000 annotated citations for all TRB and Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP) publications from the mid 1970s until present. All NCHRP and TCRP publications, Special Reports, Circulars, TR News, Conference Proceedings, and Records are included. Each individual paper in the Transportation Research Records, Conference Proceedings, Circulars, and TR News is indexed.

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.25 million records of transportation research worldwide.

Other Resources

USGS Earthquake Hazards Program
The USGS Earthquake Hazards Program is part of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) to monitor and report earthquakes, assess earthquake impacts and hazards, and research the causes and effects of earthquakes.
USGS Unified Hazard Tool
ATC Hazards by Location
The Applied Technology Council (ATC) website provides users with site-specific hazard information that can be used to determine design loads for buildings and other structures.
The International Information Center for Structural Engineers
Collection of free documents maintained by the TheStructuralEngineer.info, a interconnected network of specialized centers.
National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC)
"NEIC compiles and maintains an extensive, global seismic database on earthquake parameters and their effects that serves as a solid foundation for basic and applied earth science research."
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
"NCEI is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information."