Research Guides: Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Articles

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

Recommended Databases for Mecanical and Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Research Central (ARC) This link opens in a new window
The go-to resource for aerospace technology, engineering, and science research. Full text access is available for some of the journals published by the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics).
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of all American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) journals and abstracts of the ASME Conference Proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Collection of IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards from 1988 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index of diverse, scholarly information from across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Also includes search and analysis tools to enhance this content.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Platform that provides access to journal articles and e-books from across a wide range of disciplines, predominantly scientific, technical, and medical.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines, with greatest emphasis in STEM fields.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, reference works, protocols, and other documents across a range of disciplines in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides a search engine and index to citations and abstracts for life sciences and biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database. Other databases available include the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus of terminology, and numerous nucleic acid and protein sequence libraries. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (public access) and external databases to which CWRU subscribes.
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Includes access to additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE. Links to the molecular biology databases maintained by NCBI. Interface developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

How to Access an Article

Some articles may be readily available fulltext from the index you searched in. Use LibKey Nomad browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the Kelvin Smith Library's subscription resources.

LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that automatically provides instant links to articles from journals subscribed to by CWRU Libraries – and Open Access sources – connecting you to literature discovered on the web.
CWRU eJournal Portal This link opens in a new window
The CWRU eJournal Portal is a research tool that allows you to conveniently access the vast array of journals, periodicals, and magazines the CWRU libraries have licensed.

To access articles that are not available online, first the catalog to check whether we have it available in print in the library, and, if still not available, use the interlibrary loans service.

CWRU Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
When the journal of interest is not available in electronic format, search the catalog in case the journal is available in print.
Pay attention to coverage to the coverage dates to make sure that the article of interest is included.

Interlibrary Loan Services
When the journal is not available neither in print or in digital format, you may order a copy of the article of interest using the Interlibrary Loan Services.