Skip to Main Content

Philosophy

Basic Resources in Philosophy.

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Comprehensive Electronic Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebooks covering all subjects available through OhioLINK.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
"The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work." ~ from website
KSL Online Reference Collection
From our database directory, this list of reference resources includes biographical dictionaries, topical encyclopedias, handbooks and guides, and much more.

Philosophy Reference Book Examples

Here are just a few of the many philosophy reference sources available online and in print from the Case Libraries. There are many, many more!

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy [electronic resource] by Simon Blackburn
ISBN: 9780199541430
Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience by John Bickle (Editor)
Call Number: QP356.O94 2009
ISBN: 9780191727726
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Biology by Michael Ruse
Call Number: QH331 .O914 2010
ISBN: 9780199737260
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion by Charles Taliaferro (Editor); Elsa J. Marty
Call Number: BL51 .D514 2010
ISBN: 9781441111975
Publication Date: 2010
A Companion to Continental Philosophy [electronic resource] by Simon Critchley (Editor); William R. Schroeder (Editor)
ISBN: 0631190139
Publication Date: 1998

Topical Reference Examples

The Cambridge Companion to Kant's Critique of Pure Reason by Paul Guyer (Editor)
Call Number: B2779 .C25 2010
ISBN: 9780521883863
Publication Date: 2010
Companion to Heidegger's Contributions to Philosophy by Charles E. Scott (Editor); Susan Schoenbohm (Editor); Daniela Vallega-Neu (Editor); Alejandro Vallega (Editor)
Call Number: B3279.H48B4516 2001
ISBN: 0253214653
Publication Date: 2001
A Companion to African Philosophy by Kwasi Wiredu (Editor); William E. Abraham (Editor); Abiola Irele (Editor); Ifeanyi A. Menkiti (Editor)
Call Number: B5305.C66 2006
ISBN: 9781405145671
Publication Date: 2006
This volume of newly commissioned essays provides comprehensive coverage of African philosophy, ranging across disciplines and throughout the ages.

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 2:24 PM
URL: https://researchguides.case.edu/philosophy
Print Page

Subjects: Arts & Humanities, Ethics, Philosophy

Tags: philosophy