by Brian Gray
Last Updated Jan 28, 2022
447 views this year
KSL Government Documents Collections
As a government documents repository, the Kelvin Smith Library houses a robust print and microform collection of documents and reports from the U.S. Congress and various federal agencies. You can use the online library catalog to search for individual documents. Many of these documents are also available electronically through official government websites.
Provides access to published and unpublished congressional hearings from 1824-present. Includes abstracting and indexing records with full-text searchable PDFs attached. Hearing types include appropriations, general topical discussions, investigations, legislation consideration, nominations, oversight, related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and witness articles. Contains the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion.
Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly-researched compilations of digital, full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of US public laws.
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
Provides access to resources produced by the Federal Government including congressional bills, laws, rules and procedures, calendars, code of federal regulations, federal register, weekly compilation of presidential documents, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, arguments, docket.
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept.of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security, the HSDL contains documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service." ~ from the Congress.gov website
"The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives." ~ from the CRS website
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
Since its founding in 1974, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. The agency is strictly nonpartisan and conducts objective, impartial analysis, which is evident in each of the dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates that its economists and policy analysts produce each year. All CBO employees are appointed solely on the basis of professional competence, without regard to political affiliation. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate discloses the agency’s assumptions and methodologies. All of CBO’s products apart from informal cost estimates for legislation being developed privately by Members of Congress or their staffs are available to the Congress and the public on CBO’s website.