Find Primary Sources - USSO 288T Coffee & Civilization - Research Guide - Research Guides at Case Western Reserve University

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 0 views this year

Electronic Full Text Collections

American Periodicals Series (APS) This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States (or British colonies) from 1639 to 1800, based on Evans' American Bibliography.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Full text and scanned pages of all known existing American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United States from 1800-1819.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of over 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Primarily in English - also includes other languages.
Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership This link opens in a new window
Open access scans of books in the Short Title Catalog of Early English books published between 1473 and 1700. ProQuest has already created digital images for nearly 125,000 works, distributed under the title Early English Books Online. The Universities of Michigan and Oxford, with the support of the international library community, are creating accurately keyboarded and tagged editions of a significant portion of this corpus.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).

Historical Newspaper Collections

KSL hosts several collections of major American newspapers in full text, spanning the 19th and 20th centuries. See the link below for a full list. You can also use the Lexis Nexis Academic database for news coverage back to 1980.

KSL Historical Newspapers Collections Online
KSL hosts several collections of major American newspapers in full text, spanning the 19th and 20th centuries.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

The Readers' Guide is a key research resource for exploring 20th century American history and popular culture as chronicled in mainstream periodicals. KSL has a print copy of this multi-volume index on the first floor of the library.