Research Guides: Operations Research & Supply Chain: Articles & Databases

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education

Primary source of news, trends in education. Includes jobs for higher education administrators and faculty.

KSL on Facebook & CampusGroups

KSL on Campus Groups
Event announcements & registration.

Kelvin Smith Library

Related Databases...

Engineering and scientific databases are also useful and are easily linked to via the full Research Database list, or various Engineering lists, etc. from the All Subjects drop-down menu.

TIP: To connect to databases and the full-text content, your computer must on the network. See VPN memo on this guide's home page tab.

KSL Research Databases
An A-Z list of available databases & related resources.
Research Databases: Engineering

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, books, and newsletters published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business and management topics for operations, supply chain, finance, accounting, marketing, public relations. Editors include WSOM faculty. Sign In to create workspace to mark up, save chapters.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Analysis, magic quadrants, hype cycles offer insights and analysis of markets & topics where technology has an impact on industries: Energy, Higher Education, Financial Services, Government & Public Sector, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail, High Tech & Telecom. Create a personal profile for alerts and preferences.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Collection of IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards from 1988 to the present.
OReilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers.

Research Databases = Articles & More!

Research Databases cover a wide range of subjects, including management, accounting, marketing, economics, and more. Articles are available in scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, country economic reports, company and industry profiles, interviews, reviews, and more.

News databases also offer both company/industry information and related news. Both articles and news are important to a wide-angle search strategy.

Select the Management list of Research Databases, from the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the KSL Research Databases
Or, select the News List of Research Databases, where you'll find other Case-licensed sources like the Chronicle of Higher Education, Ethnic News Watch, and Cleveland newspapers, including specialized historical titles.

Below is a list of selected news databases:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The premier international newspaper with global focus on business, economic news, companies, markets, technology, finance, commodities, life & arts, and more. Respected opinion columnists. Customized features (fast FT, Equities tear sheets with forecasts + historical data, personal folders) and the pink ePaper for traditional reading. Mobile app & newsletters available.

Create an account with your CWRU Net ID for full access. Once you have created an account, navigate directly to ft.com for future access.

Suggested Search Terms

Search results are improved & targeted when using 'standarized' or 'controlled' language terms vs. keywords. Some suggestions:

business forecasting

business logistics

decision-making

decision science

lean manufacturing

logistics

management science

operations management

operations research

process optimization

production management

project management

quality assurance

quality standards

supply chain logistics

supply chain management

In a database like Business Source Complete

Start with one or two keyword searches at the top of the screen
Click open the 2 "Subject" icons [left sidebar menu]
Refine: click-match your words to those new database words
Add/subtract with the new database words

The [new] words the database suggests on the left sidebar menu helps you to quickly refine large results to targeted, manageable results & offers you narrower topics for further exploration.

Company names and industry words & codes will also appear in the left sidebar menu, offering new information to follow.

TIP: When you discover a good article, mark/save it temporarily. Then look for the article's hyperlinked Subject Terms and use them for your next search, combining new words in different combinations.

Examples: an article may have a Subject hyperlink for things like ASQ, Six Sigma, value chain, etc.
Try a new search with those terms, or add them into the current search to further narrow a large topic.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.