Operations Research & Supply Chain

JUNE 23, 2025: Case and OhioLINK libraries are now on PRIMO, a new platform that gathers your research tools on one screen, making it easier to find licensed journals, books licensed by all Case libraries and also the consortium libraries. 

• Have a journal article you'd like to read? Search the journal name in PRIMO that can show you if the journal is at Case or is in OhioLIN, with years of coverage, where it is (a direct subscription, or within a database, etc.)
  • Bonus: if it's in a database, you can assume that other similar topic content is within that database–so it can show you a good place to start a new search.
• If the journal you need is not electronic, PRIMO also shows you what years we have at Case, and in what library.  As always, if you need an article that is not owned  at Case, then use ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to request the article.

TIP: Always make sure your laptop or device is on Case Wireless or VPN +DuoMobile app, before you start to search for electronic content.

Sign in to VPN before you open a browser window.

Below is a sample of operations journals covering a range of applicable topics. 

TIP:  Search PRIMO  for a quick look at the years of a journal's coverage, including ejournal years of coverage as single licenses as well as within databases that include the journal title

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database, produced by the Institute for Scientific Information (formerly known as ISI, now as a tool within the database Web of Science), is one tool often used to identify journal research influence and impact factors,  and to identify top journals in a discipline. While numerous factors complicate any ranking activities, JCR is well-regarded.

Use it several ways:

• Select a single journal title for Impact factors without self-cites, 5 year impact factors, article influence, and other scores.
• Find numerous relevant journals at once, using both the JCR Social Sciences Edition (Category Management), and the JCR Science Edition (Category: Operations Reserach and Management Science) for a broad range of Operations Research and Management journals.

JCR  very recently has undergone a significant redesign, with charts, graphs, visualizations, and more. Excellent recorded short training videos from the company help to explain Impact Factor(s), Immediacy Index, and more.

NOTE: Additionally, the database Web of Science (WOS) is the platform that includes JCR in the top banner, for easy access. Cited Reference is the default  landing screen in WOS, where Author Search and/or Cited Reference Search  allows you to track prior research and authors to identify active journals.

Select JCR or Web of Science from the KSL list of Research Databases. Tip: Select Business from the All Subjects drop-down menu for resources most relevant for WSOM.