Research Guides: Operations Research & Supply Chain: Statistics & Government Sources

Get Online Help

Ask KSL
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Aug 14, 2025 329 views this year

KSL on Facebook & CampusGroups

KSL on Campus Groups
Event announcements & registration.

Kelvin Smith Library

KSL Statistical Databases & Data Sources

Statista
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to statistical data and comparisons for an eclectic, wide-ranging, and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. But the data also includes numerous other exclusive sources including industry, marketing, and trade groups. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information.
Sage Data

This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.

Quick Demographics – Intellect Database Feature

The bottom portion of this business database for companies has added features for demographics. Most recent census data by zip code, MSA or Industry is quickly searchable & displayed.

Also use the easy lookup for income per household, average house value, search by county, zip code, or place and city for:

Demographic Quick Facts
Population Quick Facts,
Demographic Trends
Household Income by Age
Effective Buying Income
PRIZM Household Distribution (Nielsen) Category Reporting

Pop-Facts:

Demographic by Age, Race, Sex
Household Quick Facts
Demographic Overview
Executive Summary
Senior Life

Intellect (Mergent) (Use VPN for off-campus access)
Hoover's text, D&B data, DUNS# for US public, and US, Canada, global private companies. Company Brief shows Market Drivers, Competitors, Media Trends, trusted news feeds. Get Product names, family tree & subsidiaries, download full or custom reports. Options on main menu for brief or detailed information.

Statistical & Government Sources

Statistics and data are available from trusted public sites as well as from licensed databases. Government agencies have a long-term investment in collecting & presenting data.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Producer Price Indexes PPI

U.S., monthly inflation data [wholesale goods], also commodities, healthcare, topical articles, labor publications
Data, tables, "latest numbers" column for trade, goods, industries. Data tools.
Monthly publications for labor, many topics, longitudinal studies, publications page for "Spotlight on Statistics" for housing (see Cleveland), employment in industry, key data affecting U.S. business. Charts and Data available.

E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy

U.S. Bureau of the Census, statistics on breadth & depth of industry, including e-commerce research

Federal Trade Commission–Consumer Protection

FTC research on consumer protection/practices such as e-payments, ID theft, online auction practices & accounting

Global Technology Forum

Global Business Intelligence for the Digital Age, country business practices, charts & graphs, news. From The Economist Intelligence Unit.Insightss on blog, countries, sub-sectors, companies