Research Guides: Banking and Finance: Articles & News

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 15 views this year

St.Louis Federal Reserve -- Fred

The St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank (8th in Federal Reserve system) focuses on the economy.

Daily headlines & Upcoming Events are key features of the site.

FRED® offers a chart for Economic Snapshot. Also Dialog w/FRED, FRED Blog, Speeches, Interviews, more. Alfred includes current + archival economic data
Banking tab features Banking Insights column, articles, news, resources, presentations

Articles in Databases

Research databases are organized into smaller sections and are targeted for academic departments. Use the BAFI list of databases for electronic resources related to banking and economics information, trends, news, & more. Resources will include newspapers, ebook collections,

TIP: Broaden your information resources by also bookmarking the "Management" folder of research databases (approximately 90) that will serve broad management topics and content central to all Weatherhead departments & programs.

BAFI Research Databases List
Online resources helpful in BAFI programs and interests
Management Research Database List
Online research databases & resources for text, journals, statistics, news, and more, all relevant for WSOM interests and programs

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Includes literature, citations, abstracts, book reviews from major journals, proceedings, books, dissertations, and working papers from major publications & the American Economic Association. Covers 1969 to current. Includes econometrics, markets, forecasting, regulations, labor, monetary theory, accounting and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Featured Database–Oxford Scholarship Online

3,000+ online titles in 18 subject disciplines from Oxford University Press. Advanced search features, export records to Endnote, RefWorks, and other citation managers.

Search Harry Markowitz, Nobel Prize winner who wrote about diversifying investment portfolios. He writes that today's financial crisis is related to lack of information, analysis, value, and transparency about the history & practice of mortgage backed securities.

Among the results is Greed and Fear: Understanding Behavioral Finance and the Psychology of Investing.
Find him in Chapter 10, Portfolios, Pyramids, Emotions, and Biases.
Print version of Greed and Fear is available at KSL, find it on the Case Catalog & borrow it!

If we don't have a copy of a title you'd like to read, use the Suggest A Book feature on this Research Guide. Or, contact me directly!

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Newspapers

Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The premier international newspaper with global focus on business, economic news, companies, markets, technology, finance, commodities, life & arts, and more. Respected opinion columnists. Customized features (fast FT, Equities tear sheets with forecasts + historical data, personal folders) and the pink ePaper for traditional reading. Mobile app & newsletters available.

Create an account with your CWRU Net ID for full access. Once you have created an account, navigate directly to ft.com for future access.
Wall Street Journal Current (Factiva) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Go directly to the WSJ by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources, including The Wall Street Journal, for the past 12 months.Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will also modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
Complete page images from 1889 - 1998.
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times Historical Archive,1888-2016 (newer years may be added without notice), is a complete facsimile run of the of this daily business newspaper and includes over 700,000 pages of past issues, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).

News Database Folder
All news databases licensed for Case, including general academic (Chronicle of Higher Education), regional, ethnic, historical news sources & more