Skip to main content

MBA - Library Orientation Guide

Get Online Help

Reminder: Online Access

  • Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
  • The best method is to follow links from the library website.
  • When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
  • Remember to close your browser when done.

E- Reference Books

There are many electronic reference books available covering:

  • Company Directories
  • Industry Surveys
  • Encyclopedias
  • Company Histories

Here is a sampling of some of the most popular.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries - Uniworld Business Publications
Authoritative source of information on American firms, which have branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates outside the United States.
Brands and Their Companies - Gale
List of more than 426,000 U.S. consumer brands from more than 115,000 manufacturers, importers or distributors ©2011 ed.

Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory, 2008, 32nd ed
Firms and individuals are arranged in subject sections under fourteen general fields of consulting activity.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume one provides separate coverage of 459 manufacturing industries. Volume two presents 545 essays covering the vast array of service and other non-manufacturing industries in the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Essays covering specific businesses as well as broad business sectors that have, for the most part, shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the near future.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
125 articles in 23 chapters spanning industry topics from agriculture and mining to semiconductors and engineering services. Each entry lays out an overview of current trends, background on past developments, and profiles of leading companies and countries.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
Authoritative directory of foreign firms operating in the U.S. The United States-based locations of each branch, subsidiary or affiliate are listed along with the parent company locations.The current edition contains information for over 4,100 foreign firms headquartered in 82 countries and over 18,250 subsidiaries and affiliates in the United States owned wholly or in part.
International Directory of Company Histories
Provides detailed histories of many of the largest and most influential companies worldwide.
Manufacturing and Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies, 2009- 5th Edition -3 vols.
Statistics on more than 600 NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications and includes projections, maps and graphics. Enhanced coverage of input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.
Mergent (Moody's) Digital Corporate Manuals
Search historical corporate and industry manuals in various business fields, from the early 1900s to today. Manuals include Transportation 1909- , Public Utility 1914- , Industrial 1920- , Banking and Finance 1928- , OTC Industrial 1970- , OTC Unlisted 1986- , International 1981- . Also search Municipal & Government Manual 1998- . All manuals are being digitized back to the first volumes.

CWRU Libraries Discovery