Journal/Newspaper Articles - MBA - Library Orientation Guide - Research Guides at Case Western Reserve University

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Financial Times, U.S.

Financial Times @Case

IMPORTANT:

Register 1st time, from the Management Research Database list [see below]
Please signup with network ID, department, graduate/undergraduate
Save your email & login, get FT mobile app, set email alerts for interests

• NOTE: After you're registered, just go to ft.com for future access–no need to go back via the database list

Use the very small top left menu icon to select areas of interest, including the link for "ePaper" – the original "pink paper" edition that faculty often require for reading. Page through it, or use the menu to check sections & headlines.

Articles from the web FT can be saved to folders that you can create & label per your needs.

Other features can be selected via your account for customized daily or weekly news feeds.

Management Database List

Find Newspaper and Journal Articles

Journals, magazines and newspapers are a great source of information on all aspects of marketing, business, industries, companies etc. Use several selected databases to find articles from both scholarly & trade publications as well as national, international and regional newspapers.

Enter your search terms - such as "food industry" and "consumer attitudes" for a list of articles on your topic, including SWOT reports. See sample search screen from Business Source Complete
Search a journal or newspaper title on EJournals & if available, select LexisNexis to insert the name, then add your search terms (SWOT) to get results
Search Factiva using Search Builder screen, or get company topical articles industry by looking it up on the Company tab & using the Company Snapshot page. News in Factiva includes the Wall Street Journal
Use Factiva's News tab/FactivaPages sub-tab for a 1-page display of headlines/lead lines for WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, Silicon Valley newspapers, & much more. 2-week archive, clickable headlines via Day & Section drop-down menus

Business Source Complete - See PDF or HTML link for full text.

The Economist

Economist This link opens in a new window
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.

Newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).