Modern Languages and Literatures

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450–present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes indexing of historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other references in the humanities.

Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content is migrating to JSTOR, and the Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.

Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

The site provides free access to Pascal and Francis, an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human, and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972 and hitherto accessible with a subscription. Three search modes are featured: simple, advanced, expert. You can also browse the content of PASCAL and FRANCIS by keywords (vocabulary) or by thematics (classification).

Full text database covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Features full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1956–present, providing access to frequently overlooked perspectives. English and Spanish language search options available.

Provides scholarly literature in the natural sciences, social sciences, engineering, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.

Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.