Research Guides: Usage Statistics by Vendor/Publisher: Expanded COVID-19 Access

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

Book Report 2
This report includes usage of Cambridge Companions, Histories, and Textbooks. There was no usage of Cambridge Elements content.

Cambridge Companions: Was available Mar 30 - Jun 29, Pricing: See Column F of the usage report listed above.
Cambridge Elements: Was available Mar 30 - Jun 29, Pricing: Did not include because there was no usage.
Cambridge Histories: Was available Mar 30 - Jun 29, Pricing: See Column F of the usage report listed above.
Cambridge Textbooks: Were available Mar 30 - Jun 29, Pricing: Per Julie Carlson "We’re currently revising our textbook pricing model to coincide with the launch of our new Higher Education website, but previously the model was such that textbooks had tiered subscription pricing [based on course enrollment]"

Database Master Report
This report includes usage of the Harvard Business Review eBook collection, Flipster trial, and free access to various primary source collections provided by CRL.
Flipster Title Usage
Pricing for EBSCO primary source collections
Provided by CRL.

Harvard Business Review eBooks: Were available Apr 7 - Jun 30. Pricing: $6,375/year.
Flipster pricing: Was available Apr 3 - Jun 30. See pricing for individual titles.
Primary source databases (Ask Shelby for a list): Were available Apr 27 - Jun 30. Pricing: See the document above.

JSTOR extended journal access usage (4/3/2020 - 12/15/2020)
This report contains usage of JSTOR journals that are specially available through JSTOR's extended COVID-19 access offer. These are journals that CWRU would not otherwise have access to via JSTOR.
COVID Free Access (April 3, 2020 - July 27, 2022)
Usage and prices for those collections.

Kanopy Complementary Usage
This usage report includes a complete list of streaming video titles that were available for free between March 17, 2020 to May 31, 2020. This report also includes usage of all Kanopy titles between the same time period.

Kanopy offered 129 films for free between March 17, 2020 to May 31, 2020. CWRU researchers accessed 21 films for a total of 26 plays and 723 minutes. The collection's estimated value is $19,350 and CWRU viewed approximately $3,150 worth of content at no additional charge.
Kanopy also reduced the one-year lease price for films from $150 to $100 during the same time period. CWRU licensed 132 films at the reduced price, spending $13,2000 instead of $19,800. This saved the library $6,600.

MIT Press Direct ebook usage
MIT Press Direct ebooks were available from April 2020 - June 2020.
MIT Press Direct pricing
Per Emily Farrell: "As Case Western sits just over the line in Tier 5, I’ve happy to bring that down to Tier 4. That would mean the Frontlist 2020 collection (c. 150 books) would be priced at $6,750. That gives you perpetual rights for the 2020 titles, as well as a full year of access to the backlist and archive content (c. 3,000 books)."
MIT Press Direct title list

ProQuest Academic Complete eBook Subscription
This COUNTER 5 B3 Book Usage by Access Type report spans March 2020 to June 2020.
ProQuest supplemental information
ProQuest offered additional dashboard information on the trial. Please note, usage data is from April 1 – June 22, which does not cover the entire course of the trial. See COUNTER 5 report for entire usage.

ProQuest provided access to the Academic Complete eBook Subscription on the ProQuest eBook Central Platform from March 2020 through June 2020. The collection is valued at $20,000,000 and includes over 187,000 titles. CWRU researchers accessed 65 unique titles in total, valued at $7,150.