Kelvin Smith Library
Case Kelvin Smith Library and the Cleveland Institute of Music Robinson Music Library provide access via their subscriptions to a number of streaming audio and video databases. All of these databases allow you to stream audio or video to your computer, but do not allow you to save the audio or video files. In some cases the databases allow you the option of buying the files in question. They are available to the Case and CIM community of users, requiring only that you connect to the CWRU network via CaseWireless, CaseGuest plus VPN software or an Internet provider plus VPN software.
While the majority of the content of these databases is western art music ("classical music"), they also include some jazz, blues, folk music, and world music. Of particular note is Smithsonian Global Sound database which contains a large number of recordings of American folk music, many of them being field recordings.
Each of the databases has its own search engine, but the Naxos Music Library and Alexander Street databases - which include the Classical, Jazz, and American music libraries plus Smithsonian Global Sound - may also be searched using Discovery, the Kelvin Smith Library's meta search engine, which searches across all of the content the library makes available. When searching for audio in Discovery please note that the source type limiter "Electronic Resources" includes online audio, and the source type limiter "Audio" is for physical media, such as CDs housed in the Kulas Music Collection.
Guide updated 6/24/21.