Kelvin Smith Library
DRAM is a scholarly resource of recordings by American composers and artists, and includes audio, liner notes, and essays. DRAM provides CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Both DRAM and its sister company, New World Records, focus on preservation and dissemination of important recordings outside the commercial marketplace.
The touchstone of the DRAM collection is the diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World Records and CRI (Composer Recordings, Inc.) labels, which merged in 2007. Categories include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and more. DRAM also includes music from a growing number of recording labels and archives. More than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives are now available, with new content being continuously added.
The landing page provides categories for browsing, or you can select the 'browse' option from the menu. The browse function is not as helpful as it could be; the user must scroll through pages and has no option to select just a portion of the alphabet (for example, all composers with last names beginning 'A'). The search function provides several indices to choose from, but is helpful only if one has a particular search term in mind. The 'random' function does exactly what its name implies, and while not the best tool for research, it does add serendipity to the process.
DRAM is not indexed in Ebsco Discovery Service.
DRAM also offers 'news', 'monthly playlists', and 'featured tracks', though the frequency of updates is unclear.