Kelvin Smith Library
The online Jazz Music Library is part of a suite of databases from Alexander Street Press to which the libraries subscribe and includes Classical Music Library, American Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. The databases provide audio and video tracks from a wide range of record/video labels.
The database gives you access to written information on specific pieces, composers and performers through the program notes included in a recording originally issued as a CD. When available, the icon for these notes ("liner notes") will appear in the left-hand sidebar of the Tracks and Details page. Look under "Awards and Reviews" for more information about an individual album.
For more detailed information on composers, performers, and musical terms use Oxford Music Online.
Because Alexander Street Press allows searching across databases, it is possible to search Jazz Music Library only or all databases which are part of this suite of Music and Performing Arts Databases. Click the 'menu' icon in the top left corner, and from the menu bar that appears, select 'my collections'. You'll see a list of Alexander Street databases our library currently subscribes to.
Recordings may be accessed by use of browse lists of which those for Composers, Performers, Genres and Instruments are the most useful. The Composer and Performers browse lists are particularly helpful if you are not certain whether a specific composer or performer is represented in the database. When using these browse lists be sure Jazz Music Library or Jazz Music is displayed as the title at the top of the screen.
The Advanced Search is set up so that it searches across the databases for types of music rather than within a specific database. For Advanced Search within the database Classical Music Library, be sure your screen has "in Jazz Music" at the top of the screen. It is also possible to search all three databases by selecting "in Music and Performing Arts." When using the Advanced search, the most fruitful search strategy is generally a number of keywords in various fields. One of the most useful features of the Advanced Search is the ability to search within the results of a previous search. This ability does not show up after all searches. If it does, you will see it at the top of the list of your search results.
Most recordings (albums) have a catalogue number and/or ISRC code (International Standard Recording Code) associated with them. If you find a recording you like or wish to use again, write down this number and search in the advanced search to find it quickly. Search a catalogue number via the Catalog Number search and an ISRC code via a Words Anywhere search.
Albums and individual tracks within Jazz Music Library are searchable using Discovery, the Kelvin Smith Library's meta search engine, which searches across all of the content the library makes available. When searching for audio in Discovery please note that the source type limiter "Electronic Resource" is for online audio and the source type limiter "Audio Recording" is for physical media, such as CDs housed in the Kulas Music Collection.