Kelvin Smith Library
The online Naxos Music Library began with recordings from the Naxos record label and rapidly grew to include many other labels. The contents of the database include:
The database gives you access to written information on specific pieces, composers and performers. The database includes an internal dictionary of brief entries describing specific musical works, and focuses on musical terms, composers and instruments. Many of the entries are enhanced with audio and manuscript examples. Whenever an entry for the work you have selected exists there will be a "Work Details" icon on the Track Details page linking you to the dictionary entry on the work.
In addition, when there are program notes included in a recording originally issued as a CD, a PDF of those notes may be included with the audio tracks. When available, the icon for these sort of "booklets" will appear in the left-hand sidebar of the Tracks Details page. These booklets can be particularly useful for world music recordings or for recordings for which the performers are not well known. If you use the composer list to access a list of all recordings in the database for that composer, you will sometimes get a very brief composer biography.
For more detailed information on composers, performers, and musical terms use Oxford Music Online.
Recordings may be accessed by use of the lists of composers or artists, available by selecting the 'people' option from the left sidebar. These are particularly helpful if you are not certain whether a specific composer or performer is represented in the database. Likewise, the 'category' option provides broad musical topics to choose from, such as 'instrumental' or 'vocal'.
The advanced search (located in the upper right corner) provides multiple search indices, and each will assist you by suggesting terms or phrases as you type in a specific box. The "Country" search box within the advanced search should be avoided. Using the name of the country in a keyword search will work much better. The "Instrument" search box within the advanced search works quite well and is very useful in finding world music recordings.
Most recordings have a catalogue number associated with them. This is a number unique to the label which issued the recording: for instance a specific album issued by record label Pan Classics might be assigned the catalogue number PC10252 or a specific album issued under the Naxos label might be assigned the catalogue number 8.554185. If you find a recording you like or wish to use again, write down this number or copy/paste it in the advanced search to find it quickly.
Albums and individual tracks within Naxos Music Library are searchable using Discovery, the Kelvin Smith Library's meta search engine, which searches across all of the content the library makes available. When searching for audio in Discovery please note that the source type limiter "Electronic Resource" is for online audio and the content type limiter "Audio Recording" is for physical media, such as CDs housed in the Kulas Music Collection. You may find it easier to search content directly in Naxos rather than Discovery, as you will need to apply more filters to narrow your search results.
To access Naxos from off-campus, you will need to have VPN enabled.
Static URLs: Every track in Naxos Music Library has a static or persistent URL assigned to it. You can access these by clicking on the paperclip icon above the track listings to the right. These can be embedded in a MSWord document or PowerPoint presentation or even a webpage. Please note that these persistent URLs take you to the track in question only, not to the actual database or album it comes from, and that the computer which is accessing the static URL must either be connected via CaseWireless or if by some other means, by VPN.
Buying Tracks to Download: the libraries' subscriptions allow you free access to streaming audio. If you wish to purchase a track and download it yourself, look for the 'Buy on iTunes' button under 'Buy and Download'.