Research Guides: History: Cleveland and Ohio Historical Sources

Get Online Help

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan, this newspaper became an influential voice for African Americans in the Ohio metropolitan region.

Cleveland Digital Library
A digital collection of texts, maps, and images covering the history of greater Cleveland and the Western Reserve region of northeastern Ohio.

Cleveland Leader, 1854-1913 This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper covering the years 1852 to 1913.

Cleveland Memory Project
An online collection of digital photos, texts, oral histories, videos, and other local history resources, that was created by Cleveland State University in collaboration with community partners around Northeast Ohio.

Cleveland News Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations of local news, reviews, and obituaries published in The Plain Dealer, Cleveland Magazine, Northern Ohio Live, and Ohio Magazine.
Crain's Cleveland Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A trusted source of business news and information on Northeast Ohio’s top executives and business owners. The resource requires users to be on-campus or connected through a VPN. And, please disregard messages on the Crain's website about creating accounts or logging in.
Encyclopedia of Cleveland History - Archive-It This link opens in a new window
The continuously updated online version of The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History includes everything contained in the print version, as well as, articles from The Dictionary of Cleveland Biography.
Encyclopedia of Cleveland History This link opens in a new window
A collaborative project by CWRU, the Western Reserve Historical Society, and the northeastern Ohio community, which supports the interpretation and understanding of the history of Greater Cleveland.

Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850 This link opens in a new window
Contains books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 to 1850.
NEOCANDO This link opens in a new window
A suite of data tools created to evaluate social policy with information from Neighborhood Data Warehouse, Property Data Portal, Neighborhood Strategy Technology, and Mapping Portal. It was created by CWRU's Center on Urban Poverty and Community Development in the Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences.
Ohio Digital Network in Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Ohio’s service hub for the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA), makes available digital collections from the Ohio Digital Network Cultural Heritage. A sample of the collection features materials from Fishes of the Great Lakes posters, wartime propaganda posters, oral histories, voices from Ohio’s LGBTQIA+ community, history of chess and checkers, ornithology, and John James Audubon’s beautiful bird illustrations.
Ohio Name Index, 1796-1850 This link opens in a new window
Includes over 156,000 names of Ohio people, businesses, and institutions whose names appear in the books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 to 1850.
Ohio Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of current and historical Ohio newspapers with full-text articles and some page images.

Western Reserve Historical Society Digital Collections
A digital collection from the oldest cultural institution in Northeast Ohio that was founded in 1867 and includes materials from the Great Lakes Exposition of 1936 and 1937, the Western Reserve Historical Society Manuscript Collection, and the Gay Waves Radio Program.