Research Guides: History: Articles and Databases

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 370 views this year

Focus on: Antiquity and Medieval History

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the second millennium BCE with pre-classical archaeology and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
Database produced by the German Archaeological Institute that provides citations to scholarly writing on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern antiquities, art, and archaeology. Ancillary databases contain additional bibliographic citations, as well as images of art, objects, and monuments.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance between 400-1700. Citations for books, journal articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, and discographies, are all included along with essay citations.
New Jacoby This link opens in a new window
A digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Anchored in the work of Felix Jacoby, who started the work of collecting fragments and writing commentaries.
Manchester Medieval Sources Online This link opens in a new window
Provides translations of key medieval social and political sources.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital library of resources for studying the ancient world. Includes texts and translations, philological tools, maps, extensively illustrated art catalogs and other resources.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new window
Presents newly published Greek inscriptions, summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.

What are Library Databases?

Databases are electronic resources that provide in-depth analysis of specific topics, areas, genres, and periods. This page lists generalized, specified, and multidisciplinary databases to aid research on history.

General Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Full-text and scanned pages of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States (or British colonies) from 1639 to 1800.
FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Precision search interface for the OCLC Worldcat database.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450–present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes indexing of historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full-text access to back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business
Open Library of Humanities This link opens in a new window
Open Access publishing platform features academic journals from across the humanities, from classics, theology, and philosophy, to modern languages and literatures, film and media studies, anthropology, political theory, and sociology.

North American History Databases

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Core encyclopedias and reference sources for authoritative information on African American history, biography, art, literature and culture, published by Oxford University Press.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse American newspapers, from all 50 states, that were published across three centuries chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
An index of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life from the C16th. It covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy and contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the Jews in the C17th to mid-C20th. This collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society.

Topical Databases: Gender and Sexuality

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
An online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
Texts by English and American women that were published between 1500 to 1830.

Focus on: History of STEM

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the development and influence of science, technology, and medicine.
Medical Services and Warfare, Module I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Popular Medicine in America (1800-1900) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore various printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera that showcase the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century.

Focus on: Area and Ethnic Studies

Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Contains content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean and includes hundreds of full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Contains resources on Mexican-American and Latinx topics from 1967 to the present. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Rican, Cuban-American, and Central American immigrants. It also includes the Spanish-speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes publications from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, covering the countries of the Middle East and North Africa, and providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late nineteenth century to the present.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection chronicles conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region during this time. The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in multiple South Asian languages.