Research Guides: EPOM 407 Engineering Economics and Financial Analysis: Journals & Databases

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

Research In Accounting Regulation

Research In Accounting Regulation @KSL
A Title search for Research In Accounting Regulation on the Case Catalog shows both print & electronic versions.

The bolded title in this box displays the online journal version in the OhioLINK EJC (Electronic Journal Center). Print copies are also available on the 3rd floor of KSL, via the Catalog record.

Many academic serial titles are cataloged this way, & the Case Catalog will always tell you where & how to access them.

Other Key Journals

Journals in this list are available via the EJournals portal

Accounting and business research
CPA journal
Journal of accountancy
Journal of accounting, auditing & finance
Journal of accounting research
Management accounting

They are covered in a variety of databases: Accounting & Tax, Business Source Complete, LexisNexis, OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC), JSTOR.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Article database for accounting, taxation, financial management, policies, standards, legislation, compensation & pension plans, AICPA, FASB, and IASB. Includes accounting & consulting firm profiles. Comprehensive coverage of key industry publications, newspapers, and scholarly & trade literature. Advanced search options & help features available.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center, EJC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic journals available through OhioLINK.
JSTOR (Books, journals, primary sources, & Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.

Artstor content has been migrated to JSTOR; select the "images" tab to search images.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Registration is not required for campus and VPN access, but to take full advantage of personalized features, you must create a profile.

Training resources:

Articles in Databases

The KSL Research Database List for Economics also has other complementing databases in Accounting, Banking and Finance, Management. This partial list highlights featured databases related to economics information, trends, news & more.

Find related research in the Business Folder on the Research Database list for Accounting, Banking and Finance, Labor, General Business & Management, Market & Industry Analysis, and other business fields.

Management Research Database Folder

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Includes literature, citations, abstracts, book reviews from major journals, proceedings, books, dissertations, and working papers from major publications & the American Economic Association. Covers 1969 to current. Includes econometrics, markets, forecasting, regulations, labor, monetary theory, accounting and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Go-to database for articles (academic, peer-reviewed, magazines, trade literature, newspapers), case studies, interviews, SWOT reports, and more. Controlled language hyperlinks generate excellent results. Save time & organize your work with features (save to folders, cite, share, export, create notes, and links). 80+ other database subjects on same platform for depth andease of cross-research areas. Create “My Research” account to save documents.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad multi-disciplinary database encompassing areas in art, science, and humanities. Includes full-text, plus indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other publications.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Consultants and consulting organizations directory
Provides information on firms and individuals from the U.S. and Canada in the consulting services industry. Covers 14 general fields of consulting activity ranging from agriculture to marketing, and more..

Economist This link opens in a new window
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.

Find Your Journals & 'Find More Like It'

Is Your Journal Title Electronic? Find It, Fast!

Fnd out if a journal you saw or heard about is licensed for you & use the E-Journals List to find it! Whether the journal is a separate subscription or included in a database, the EJournals portal finds it!

Start at the Case Catalog | Select EJournals from the thin gray menu bar near the top of the screen | Type in the journal title

Follow the best link for the date of your citation, e.g.:

The link you choose from the results of a journal title search on EJournals may depend on whether a) you want to read only that article (in a subscription link) or b) read it and continue researching the subject or author in the database link.

• Find More Like It...

Choose a link for a database like Business Source Complete or Accounting & Tax for your journal article & the article will have standardized tags & subject terms assigned to it that describe the article. Use those tags/terms to begin a new search for 'more like it,' expanding on the original article that you liked.

EJournals list helps to identify a good database to do further searching–if a good journal is included in the database, others like it are in there & it's a good place to start a new search so you can stay in one good source and build upon the good article you found there.