Research Guides: Marketing: Encyclopedias/Dictionaries/Directories

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Brian Gray Last Updated Jan 28, 2022 159 views this year

Electronic Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2007
Essays covering specific businesses as well as broad business sectors that have, for the most part, shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the near future.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2008
Information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Volume one provides separate coverage of 459 manufacturing industries. Volume two presents 545 essays covering the vast array of service and other non-manufacturing industries in the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2007
125 articles in 23 chapters spanning industry topics from agriculture and mining to semiconductors and engineering services. Each entry lays out an overview of current trends, background on past developments, and profiles of leading companies and countries.
Manufacturing & Distribution USA: industry analyses, statistics and leading companies
Call Number: Online
Statistics on more than 600 NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications and includes projections, maps and graphics. Enhanced coverage of input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.

CWRU Libraries Discovery

Directories

Gale Directory Library offers online directories for:

Brands and Their Companies – Manufacturers & distributors large and small, public and private sectors. U.S. based brands & companies

Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory – Firms and individuals listed are arranged in subject sections under 14 general fields of consulting activity

Market Share Reporter – company business statistics with market description, market share

National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations – Comprehensive guide of nonprofit organizations including foundations, endowment funds, scholarships, research centers, trusts, religious organizations, associations, chambers of commerce, hospitals and universities

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies – profiles over 100,000 U.S. companies- 90% of which are private.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Supplies national directories for brands, consultants, non-profit organizations, academic faculty, plus public and private companies.