Skip to main content

International Students Library Handbook: Find Articles & Books (Research Resources)

Welcome to the Library–here are useful tips, information, answers to help you get started with your research!

Ask A Librarian

 

VPN Reminder

Library resources are accessed openly by Case wired computers or by using the Case Wireless network. If connecting in any other method, please install, turn on, and log into VPN.

At the bottom of the KSL homepage, a green light says you have full access.

Other Research Guides

Find help on many topics with customized Research Guides.

Information specialists create guides for subject areas, classes, or specific topics like finding patents. A guide can help you get acquainted with a topic, learn the best databases to use, and even specific words to search for to obtain good results.

There's also a Research Guide for learning how to organize & manage your research citations in RefWorks. 
Explore our online Research Guides!

Find Books & More at KSL

All Case Libraries share their collections in the Case Catalog. You can get things from the library shelves & use them.

Use the Case Catalog to find books, DVDs and other types of materials that you can borrow. The Case Catalog will also find the names of print journals, government documents, and other items that can be used in the building.

When you find what you are looking for, check for information that tells you where the item is & if it is available for borrowing:

  • Location (which library has it)
  • Call Number (the number helps you find it on the shelves)
  • Status (shows whether or not it is available, checked out, held on library Reserves, etc.)

ExampleSearch the catalog for the book Smart Thinking: skills for critical understanding and writing.

Location is Kelvin Smith Library Stacks (shelves).

Call Number is BC177.A46 2004.

Status says "available."

Find & Request Items from the OhioLINK Catalog

OhioLINK is an academic consortium of 90 institutions in Ohio that share a central catalog. Look up items & borrow directly from the online OhioLINK Catalog. Or visit any OhioLINK member library & borrow items there. Your library account at Case must be in good standing in order to have OhioLINK privileges.

  • First look up an item on the Case Catalog.
  • If it's not available for borrowing (or if we don't own it), click the OhioLINK icon  at the top of the page. OhioLINK displays the item if a member library has it.
  • If the item is available at other libraries, use the REQUEST  link on the screen, choose CWRU from the drop-down list & follow the screen prompts. Choose a pickup location library such as Kelvin Smith Library.
  • Items are usually delivered in about 5 weekdays & you'll get an email notice when it arrives.
  • You can also check your library account for status information about the requested item.

Use OhioLINK to supplement the Case collections. Expand your research from the 3-million Case Catalog to the 50-million item OhioLINK Catalog, in one click!

SearchOhio libraries (19 public libraries in Ohio) also share books with OhioLINK by the same online request method. Find the SearchOhio icon on the OhioLINK Central Catalog, and expand your reading materials.

Example

Book Healing spices : how to use 50 everyday and exotic spices to boost health and beat disease is not available at KSL.

Since the book is not available at KSL, click on the Search OhioLINK  button on top of the page.

The book is available at other libraries; click on the Request  button and & follow the screen prompts.

Find eBooks

eBooks are listed in Case Catalog as "electronic resource" and can be searched as any other book. Another way to search for ebooks is to search directly in specialized collections like the ones below:

Find Journals & eJournals

Find a journal title in print or online versions.

  • Use the Case Catalog to find the print version on the library shelves, especially for journals published prior to 1996.
  • Use the eJournal Portal to find out if the journal is electronic. If your journal title is electronic, look for
    • the date range that it covers
    • what database(s) cover the journal.
  • If you still cannot find the title, use Interlibrary Loan to request the article(s).

Find Articles

Use indexes and databases to locate articles. Online databases have journal abstracts & full-text articles.

Search Tips

  • Search for "more like it" in a database, when you find a good article.
  • Find the best group of databases by selecting a subject area.
  • Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search.

Click on the buttonCheck for full text access at CWRU  to see if an article is available online. If it's not available neither at Case Libraries nor through OhioLink, you can request it through interlibary loan.

Image attribution:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad or ILL)

When an item is not available neither at Case nor in OhioLINK, we can search for it at other libraries and request it for you. Use ILL to submit your request. First-time users will register for an account. This service is free for Case students and employees.

KSL cannot guarantee whether the item is available for borrowing, and if it is, KSL staff have no control on the time it would take the item to be delivered at KSL. In general, requested journal articles will be delivered electronically within three business days.