This is the "Home" page of the "International Student Handbook" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Student Handbook   Tags: handbook, international, international, student, students  

Welcome to the Library–here are useful tips, information, answers to help you get started with your research!
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.case.edu/internationalstudents Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Come to Kelvin Smith Library

The Kelvin Smith Library is often called KSL. Look for the large building next to Thwing Center, on Euclid Avenue.

Parking is available on nearby streets & usually requires coins for parking space meter-boxes. A garage (S-29) with hourly-fees is underneath the library, with the entrance on East Boulevard. Take the elevator up to the plaza level so you can enter KSL or go to Thwing Center.

Coming to Campus:
KSL's location information page shows you parking, local transportation, and a campus map. Campus Directions are helpful if you are driving or coming to Cleveland and then to campus.


View Larger Map

Helpful Phone Numbers

Main Service Desk 216-368-3506:
Contact Us for general questions, comments, borrowing, OhioLINK, etc.

Hours Hotline 216-368-6500:
Today's Desk Hours & semester hours

Reference Services 216-236-3KSL(3575):
Reference email, live chat, appointments
Get help on finding the research you need!

Freedman Center 216-368-0932
Language Learning, multimedia center

Special Collections 216-368-2993
Unique local & historical collections

Kulas Music Library 216-368-2403
Music resources, collections, staff, location

Astronomy Library 216-368-3728
Books & journals, resources, location

 

Library Hours

KSL offers nearly 100 hours a week of library hours with library staff here to help you!

Hours change with the undergraduate academic calendar & holidays.

Check the Hours Hotline (368-6500) before you plan a visit to KSL.

Or, check the KSL homepage for the Today's Desk Hours icon:

  • Today's Desk Hours (library staff is here to help you)
  • Click that icon to see the full list of semester hours
  • Reference Hours vary slightly
  • 24x7 access only during Fall/Spring semesters (in session)
  • Evening & 24x7 acess requires Case photo ID
 

Ask A Librarian

Customer Service Rating by LivePerson

 

See Ask A Librarian page for additional contact methods.

Welcome

The Kelvin Smith Library and the other Case libraries welcome you to campus and are here to help you find the best information for your needs. You already have a library card–it's your Case photo ID card and it allows you to borrow at all Case Libraries.

We'll also help you discover other academic libraries in Ohio (OhioLINK) and show you how to find and use their collections. Your Case photo ID card can be used at all OhioLINK libraries.

Use the Tabs on the top of this guide for helpful details on the library services, people, and places in the library that can help you with your work.

Contact us with any question you have:

  • ask staff at Main Service Desk in KSL
  • chat with a librarian by clicking on the icon on the library homepage,
  • telephone KSL at 368-3506.

We look forward to talking with you!

 

How to Find & Borrow Things You Need

You're welcome to go directly to the shelves in the library and look through the collections. KSL has 4 floors and 900 chairs so it's easy to find a comfortable place to read journals, magazines, and newspapears that need to stay in the library, or to photocopy what you need to use.

You can search & find titles on the Case Catalog, or staff at the Main Desk can help you find materials. There are maps in the shelving areas to help you know where to find things, and we also have online floor maps. We're happy to answer any questions & help you find what you need!

Borrow books & take them out of the library–it's easy!

  • Books are on the 3rd floor & are arranged by a numbering system of alphabet letters and numbers.
  • When you find the books you need, bring them to the Main Service Desk on the first floor.
  • Give your Case photo ID card to library staff and they will scan the books and put them on your library account.
  • After library staff scans your Case ID card the 1st time, you can use the SelfCheckOut computer at the Main Service Desk. Check out KSL books yourself without standing in line, or at night during 24x7!

These collections must remain in the library:

  • Magazines: 1st floor
  • Journals: A-M on the 1st floor; N-Z on the Lower Level
  • Current journals (single issues, not yet bound in hard covers): 1st floor near the staircase
  • Newspapers: 1st floor

KSL has a large collection of DVDs & VHS tapes that you can borrow. They have special numbers & are not on the open shelves:

  • Find the titles & their numbers on the Case Catalog or on the QuickList.
  • Give the VHS or DVD numbers to the library staff at the Main Service Desk. They will get them for you.

Find out more about how to use your library account, how long you can borrow books & how to renew them, and about your library privileges on the Library Services page at the top of this guide.

 

Tell Us What You Think About This Guide (and what else you'd like to have in it!)

We hope you enjoy this guide–we'd love to hear from you, at any time!

Use this guide, or the Contact Us link on KSL's pages & we'll send your comment or question to the right person.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Services Librarians

You can contact a librarian by phone, email, chat, or in-person to assist in all your needs. See our Ask A Librarian services page.

  • Ann Holstein
    Numeric and Geospatial Data
  • Arlene Sievers-Hill
    Art History & Art, Modern Languages & Literature
  • Brian Gray
    Chemical Engineering, Macromolecular Science & Engineering
  • Catherine Wells
    Engineering: Biomedical, Civil, Electrical & Computer Science, Materials Science, Mechanical & Aerospace
  • Karen Oye
    Weatherhead: Accounting, Banking & Finance, Economics, Information Systems, Marketing & Policy Studies, Operations, Organizational Behavior
  • Karen Thornton
    Anthropology, Astronomy, Geological Sciences, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics
  • Mark Eddy
    Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, Sociology
  • Sharon Gravius
    Cognitive Science, Psychological Sciences
  • Stephen Toombs
    Classics, Dance, Music, Theater
  • William Claspy
    English, History
  • Yuening Zhang
    Biology, Chemistry
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip