Research Guides: Accountancy: Gov't, Filings, Statistics

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

PrivCo – Global Private Company Information & Venture Capital

Private company financial intelligence – business & financial data and analysis, plus IPO news & updates on venture capital, M&A activity, and private equity deals, company competitors & comparables. Since 90% of major U.S. business is privately held, PrivCo saves you time in class assignments and in your career planning, as well as in getting a closer look at industries with sectors, industry, sub-industry codes that lead to other competitors.

PrivCo's financial analysis, venture capital funding, reviews, market research, and more can be the difference in the depth of your discovery and your final project results. Search names, deals, industry, geography, funding opportunities & stages–which might help you determine where to consider career opportunities!

NOTE: Create a personal account on PrivCo, using your Case network credentials.

Features: Check out PrivCo's Knowledge Bank to better understand the private investor environment, and their Research Blog for news!

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo allows users to search for privately-held companies across a global, cross-sector platform. Users can identify key metrics like revenues, employees, funding, and deals through a single interface.

Video: 30-Second Brief Description

PrivCo's Daily Newsletter: Sign up here for the Daily Stack

Featured Database

Mergent (Moody's) Corporate Manuals

Now digital, Mergent Web Reports provides a significant archive of documents & data about companies.

Includes Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, OTC Unlisted, Transportation, Public Utility, Municipial & Government Corporate Manauals, many digitized back to early 1900s.
Coverage varies by manual.
Search and display the manual, the scanned page of your search result, or the pdf of your search result.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Deep financials with customized search & export report features for company data, economic research, and supply chain (Horizon tab). Create index, exchange lists, and data elements. Includes U.S. & global, active/inactive, public & private company & data, executive information, annual reports, filings, and industry & equity reports. Includes robust Report Builder and create list functions.

Datasets & Statistics

Find quick data with Statista, including multiple export options for the data. When you need more depth, use Data-Planet Statistical Datasets or the companion quick ready-reference tool that leads you back into the full Data-Planet database.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets lets you manipulate the charts, download raw data, overlay several topics, create maps, and create permanent DOI link for the chart or map you create. Excellent Help tool on the top menu.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to statistical data and comparisons for an eclectic, wide-ranging, and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. But the data also includes numerous other exclusive sources including industry, marketing, and trade groups. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.

Government & Statistical

Sources for Statistics and Filings

Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. economy at a glance, newsroom, interactive data tables, papers & working papers. National, regional, international, industry data.
EDGAR
Security & Exchange Commission database (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval). Company filings, domestic & foreign. 10-K, proxy, prospectus, other documents.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Deep financials with customized search & export report features for company data, economic research, and supply chain (Horizon tab). Create index, exchange lists, and data elements. Includes U.S. & global, active/inactive, public & private company & data, executive information, annual reports, filings, and industry & equity reports. Includes robust Report Builder and create list functions.

Securities and Exchange Commission
Rules, news, video,f ilings and regulatory actions
Bureau of Labor Statistics

Feature: Statista Data Portal for Fast Charts, Data, Forecasts, & More

Search from the home page Popular or Recent statistics, or use the search box for a text search. Studies, industry reports, and Dossier reports are included as appropriate.Select a result to generate an instant chart...and see suggested Related content. Data is sourced for citations, and the data can be exported for manipulation. Charts can be exported in a variety of formats.

Our membership in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) makes this database offering possible.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to statistical data and comparisons for an eclectic, wide-ranging, and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. But the data also includes numerous other exclusive sources including industry, marketing, and trade groups. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information.

About SEC Filings

Public companies are required to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Find out more about the public forms and their rules, regulations, and schedules.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission