Research Guides: Accountancy: Newspapers

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 400 views this year

Newspapers

From the Research Database list, Accounting or Management or News folders:

Both Factiva & LexisNexis have specialized Accounting sections for journals, newsletters, curated news, & company information.

Tip: Search a news source from EJournals Portal & click through a LexisNexis link–the news source title is automatically inserted into Lexis. Add your search terms

Browse a journal in Factiva: use default Search page. Select Source/Select Source Category by Industry [drop down menu], select Accounting/Consulting to view publications for searching.

Newspapers & Sources in Factiva & LexisNexis

In Factiva:

Use the top-of-screen tab for News –> Factiva Pages
WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, St.Louis Dispatch, etc. Headlines/lead lines display in column. Change date, section
Use the small top-left of page drop-down menu to select topic folders for Accounting/Consulting, and more

In LexisNexis:

Top right of the main search box opens a new "Search by Subject or Topic" menu
- Specialized sections Company Dossier, SEC filings, Company Profiles, Accounting resources
Also: use the top-of-screen Find or Browse links to see categories & titles:
- Select "Browse" then select radio icon for "Industry"
- Choose Accounting & Tax, Banking & Finance, etc.
  - Journal titles will display for the Industry folder you select. Accounting & Tax includes handbooks, journals, state tax newsletters, and more

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper (1851 - 2016) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete digital edition of The Times (London).
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Sign up here, save login info, get mobile app, set up alert(s). After you do that, you only need to go to ft.com, with your VPN or Case Wireless on.

If you saved your login, you're in automatically–or, just click the small 'sign in' near the top of the page!

Full FT website access, full "pink paper" ePaper version with page-turning/save tools + a 5 year ePaper archive. The "ePaper" (in 'Tools') is the graphic version.

Newspaper Research

Identify where your newspapers are covered, so you can search concepts across large amounts of time & entries and get a good result list from a database. Newspapers included within databases also yield good results when you are tracking an author's work, or want to see how often articles mention a hot topic in a week/month's time.

Find out where your newspaper is included, by using the Ejournals link from the Case Catalog

Search something specific, or Browse a specific issue by selecting a year to open the volume/issues.

TIP: In any EBSCOhost databse, save time: set your page display to 50 items per page since an edition often will cover 100+ items.

TIP: Looking for particular words in a long display list? Simply use your browser Find command (Ctrl F, or Command-F) to quickly find results