Research Guides: Organizational Behavior: Statistical Sources

Get Online Help

KSL Ask A Librarian
Information on how to get help by email, phone, & chat.

Reminder: Online Access

Library resources require going through CWRU Single Sign-On.
The best method is to follow links from the library website.
When logged in and a browser window is not closed, access should continue from resource to resource.
Remember to close your browser when done.

CWRU Libraries Discovery & Authentication
by Anne Trenholme Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 0 views this year

Statista – Data + Graphics

Statista – quick statistics, dossiers, studies; search creates fast graphs & you can export the data to create your own spreadsheets. Search Tablet Market US or worldwide, Consumer Survey: reasons for purchasing a tablet 2012, Global PC Revenue Forecast, more.

Top menu bar offers multi-faceted reports:

Topics feature popular specific topics, plus Media, Business, Society
Industries display Reports, Forecasts, Dossiers
Digital Markets new & expanding, provides new format of reports with text, data, graphics on electronic media, advertising, commerce, medical, FinTech, health, travel, services, and features like connected car
New Consumer Markets new & expanding, provides new format of reports for food, drink, products for personal use

Use Keyword search

Display list of options
Select from formats like Statistics, Forecasts, Market Analytics, Studies, Dossiers, Topics, Infographics
Filter for similar topics, better search terms
Select a link and get multiple download options, citation style options, source lists, various related reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to statistical data and comparisons for an eclectic, wide-ranging, and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census. But the data also includes numerous other exclusive sources including industry, marketing, and trade groups. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information.

Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsDatabase

Rich with data from many resources, Data-Planet lets you choose the granularity of your data points & create charts, graphs, maps, and/or trend lines. Export the data to work with on your own time, or let Data-Planet create the visual–and then link it to a DOI link for permanence.

Use the left sidebar sections to choose a topic, or open the Source folders to select :

Key Economic Indicators
Subject Folder/browse vital statistics, U.S. & international government agencies, stocks/commodities,more...
Source Folder/browse extensive departments and global resources: World Bank, OECD, Freddie Mac, UN, international stock exchanges, numerous U.S. government departments, more...
New feature: Overlays with the CTRL key allow you to create a dataset & then overlay it with Democrat and Republican political parties (President, House, Senate) or Recession datapoints.

TIP: Get A Quick-Start into Data-Planet!

When you're new to Data-Planet or aren't sure where to start, the Data-Planet Ready Reference version on the Research Database list allows you to get quick answers by a keyword or phrase search.

Refine from the left column
Make a selection by clicking through an item display
You'll be taken directly into the best place in the complete Data-Planet database, with map, download, and other options pre-populated for your selection, e.g., Education/Gender Statistics yields options for Education with sports, heads of universities, coaching, enrollment, etc., all by gender data sets.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
This resource provides tools to dynamically compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the Data-Planet repository. The interactive database allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education, energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction, industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data, available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.

Passport Database

International in scope, Passport brings you both text analyst reports plus data points in time series. Create a personal workspace in "My Profile" to save reports and research.

Dashboards give a quick, visual look at a topic, where you can change the world map to what you need, and refine a category to a specific age group. Explore wellness initiatives in a country & select the details you need and the amount of data to use.

Each Category has analyst commentary, "Did You Know?" articles, white papers, podcasts, interviews, and wealth of information on consumers in today's world.

Choose a topic area fromt the top banner on the screen, and that topic's landing page will have text analysis, videos, interviews, and specialized reports to read,along with a column for Latest Research.

Take time to carefully look at all materials on the screen–choose statistics to download, research to read, and store it in your account for later use.

You can also search in a highly structured manner, expanding a search tree & selecting smaller segments.

Note: Passport requires a SingleSignOn link and it is to be used for Case research, and not shared outside of Case.

Passport: Global Market Research: Data & Analysis This link opens in a new window
Data and analysis for global industry, country, and consumer business research. Search to create detailed custom queries. Dashboards give fast visualization of large data. Create 'My Pages' login to save research. Videos on the Help menu are essential to an efficient start using Passport. Hover over the top menu bar and see all categories; select/view a category for charts, latest research, interviews, top news, global analysis, Did You Know, global briefing documents, and ranking tools for historical and forecast.

No form of commercial use of the Intelligence shall be permitted. No one can knowingly permit anyone other than Authorised Users to use the Service and/or the Intelligence; or publish or re-distribute or make available to third parties Intelligence which any of them extract from the Service.

No guest access to this database is allowed. Access is limited to current CWRU affiliates only.

Mintel

Mintel database specializes in market research oriented to consumer behavior. Topics can be helpful in understanding behaviors in organizations, such as when wellness programs are undertaken by companies. Successful launches of such programs depend on deeper understanding of how individuals react, and Mintel database combines survey information, data, and text analysis to support research.

Use the Category Overview to select a research area like green topics, wellness, ecommerce, or Demographics for age-related or economic sectors of the population.
Or, use the My Reports section and choose from timely topics on Technology & Media, Lifestyles, Well Being, for extensive analyst reports. Mark sections to save in your account, and select export to Excel features to work with the data as you need to.
Mintel is licensed for Case academic projects only, and may not be shared outside of Case. An additional login is required, and you'll need to create a personal account / workspace to save documents for compiling & printing.

Mintel Market Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.

New Module in 2022: U.S. Culture & Identity Reports

NEO CANDO Database

NEO CANDO
Comprehensive database on the social and economic conditions in Cuyahoga County and the 7 surrounding counties. Data include population demographics, vital statistics, welfare program participation and crime related indicators.